PDA

View Full Version : Handbrake Preset and resolution




Lucagfc
Nov 15, 2010, 12:13 PM
Hi

I wan't to convert some MKV (1920 x 800 pixel) to watch it on Apple TV (1280 x 720). The Handbrake default preset for Apple TV, instead of 1280 x 720, downscale the source to 960 x 400.

Why the default preset made for a 720p device (Apple TV) use this strange resolution to downscale the original video?

Should I manually change the resoulition to 1280 x 720 ?



georgee2face
Nov 15, 2010, 12:23 PM
yes..check custom and set to 1280X720..they look great

QuarterSwede
Nov 15, 2010, 12:29 PM
A quick way to test your settings when tweaking them is to just do a chapter of a movie.

Lucagfc
Nov 15, 2010, 12:39 PM
What I don' t know is why Handbrake preset use this strange resolution!

Another question:

for better quality should I set to 1280 x 720 also standard resolution video? in this case Handbrake execute upscale and the result could be better than play the standard resolution Dvix?

NightStorm
Nov 15, 2010, 01:03 PM
Because 1280x720p30 isn't compatible with the AppleTV v1, and the presets have not been updated with new device capabilities in mind.

Upconverting a source would be a huge waste of bits, and isn't possible in the GUIs anyways.