PDA

View Full Version : How to update/upgrade PPC G4




bob2131
Nov 15, 2010, 01:20 PM
Hi, i have a G4, the spec being:

OSX 10.1.3
Memory 896MB
Processor PowerPC G4

My windows pc and macbook are both giving me problems, so im thinking i do something with the above mac, as im not currently using it.

How can i make it as good as possible?
in terms of operating system version, which is the newest version of OSX i can put on there?

and how do i found out what MHz the processor is?
the manual just says "PowerPC G4 processor with 256KB cache, some configs have 2mb cache".

thanks in advance.



d88co88
Nov 15, 2010, 03:17 PM
Is there a place that says "More Info" in the about this mac box? I don't have OS 10.1 up and running right now so I can't check. If not,

a. If it's a tower, look for a sticker on the back of the machine that has all the specs

b. If it's a laptop, take out the battery and I think the specs should be there.

666sheep
Nov 15, 2010, 03:28 PM
^ There was no "More Info" button in 10.1. It appeared in 10.2.
I presume (from info provided by OP) it's Quicksilver, first rev. Some of them haven't config info printed on sticker.

OP: go to Utilities folder in Applications and launch Apple System Profiler. You'll find all needed info there.

bob2131
Nov 15, 2010, 04:13 PM
this is the info i got from about this mac i recall:

OSX 10.1.3
Memory 896MB
Processor PowerPC G4

its uplugged at moment, but that was the info from the finder.

the back of tower says: 800mhz/cd
not sure if that is the processor spec.

so i need to get more spec than this?
if so then ill system profiler.

cheers.

Madd the Sane
Nov 15, 2010, 05:39 PM
10.4 is the "official" supported OS you can install. However, with a bit of trickery, you can get 10.5 running on it.

bob2131
Nov 15, 2010, 05:48 PM
10.4 is the "official" supported OS you can install. However, with a bit of trickery, you can get 10.5 running on it.

so 800mhz is my processor spec?

so currently im on puma 10.1
and i can definately update to 10.4 Tiger?
are you sure? thats a huge step up.....

Madd the Sane
Nov 15, 2010, 05:56 PM
I have a 450 MHz G4 that runs Tiger just fine. It doesn't work so well with 10.5, though.