Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Mac-rookie

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 17, 2010
UK
I'm a mac novice and I have wanted to get a mac for a while now and I've finally got the money together. However as it is quite a lot of cash to part with I am being a bit indecisive. I wanted to get the 15" mac but looking at the buyer's guide on this site it say's not to buy as there may be an update soon. What I don't want is to get it and a few weeks later a newer version comes out.

Any idea as to when this may be; I was looking to get my mac in early Jan. Also I've read that the iPad doesn't support flash is this the same with macbooks??? What is your advice.

Kyffin

macrumors 6502
Sep 5, 2010
Suppose it depends on what you want it for; flash is, has been, and can't see it being anything but a bit crummy- I don't find it an issue but then I don't use it so its not really a deal breaker.

The price is substantial and with all the rumourmongering going on about Sandy Bridge in the new year I'd be tempted to wait if I already had something to tide me over, but then again how much of a difference will it make to you? I've the 13"er and its a trojan (imo also represents the best value too)- how much of a performance uplift could justify denying yourself a fast new computer until then? Would you get ever the time back if an app launched half a second faster?

Big descision at a tricky time, don't envy your position but in your shoes I'd just flip a coin (life's a lot more fun that way:D)

ps if you've not had a mac before its sooo much more of an improvement than some any chip architecture, best of luck!

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009
You'll not see an update in 2010. Most likely the MBP will see an update sometime in the first quarter. Whether that's end of January, or end of March is anyone's guess.

alust2013

macrumors 601
Feb 6, 2010
On the fence