PDA

View Full Version : power strip with switch




potatis
Nov 19, 2010, 05:32 PM
If using a power strip with switch to turn it on/off, would the Apple TV take any damage or resolve to error seeking mode each time it boots?
a) if doing it without going to settings->standby in the atv menu?
b) if doing it after going to settings->standby in the atv menu?



bearcatrp
Nov 19, 2010, 06:06 PM
Flip the switch after you power it down. You could corrupt the OS on the apple tv if you flip the kill switch first. Be just like doing that to your computer. Not a good idea. Why not leave it on? It will go into sleep mode and doesn't draw much power.

potatis
Nov 19, 2010, 06:16 PM
Have the gen1 with hard drive which makes slight sounds and gets hot. I was thinking of having this power switch for my hifi set, to which I also connect my appleTV, so I thought I could simply have it all turned on by the switch.

bearcatrp
Nov 19, 2010, 06:31 PM
I have to 40gb model and been on for 2 years. Yeah it gets warm but no big deal. You can try it for awhile and see what happens but think you will corrupt it sooner or later. If you plan on streaming only, consider putting a ssd in it. No moving parts so should be cooler. That's in my plans since small ssd drives are dropping in price. Good luck.

potatis
Nov 19, 2010, 06:46 PM
Yeah I 've been thinking of ssd for a while, but want to sync some because I have the computer in the same room (noise, again). Since 128GB SSD would be like $2-300 (almost $400 for PATA version on Newegg) it would be cheaper to just get a 160GB HDD appleTV, which could be easily replaced if it should break.