Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

vdm10

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 13, 2008
Los Angeles
First off let me say that I'm a college student on a budget.

I can't decide if I should go with a refurbished rev.c or a brand new base 11" mba. The rev.c is $849 and the brand new 11" is $999, both before taxes. The laptop wouldn't be my primary computer, I just need something to have with me to take notes in class, run office programs, and browse the internet. Here are two questions that are of concern to me:

1) sata hard drive vs. flash storage, would i see a noticeable difference in basic usage or just when dealing with large files?

2) battery life. how is the battery life on the rev.c compared to the new 11"s. How many hours should I expect to get out of the 13" rev.c? According to wikipedia the rev.c has a 40-watt hour lithium ion polymer battery versus the 11"s 35-watt hour battery, how does this translate to actual mins/hours?

Thanks in advance :)

MikhailT

macrumors 601
Nov 12, 2007
First off let me say that I'm a college student on a budget.

I can't decide if I should go with a refurbished rev.c or a brand new base 11" mba. The rev.c is $849 and the brand new 11" is $999, both before taxes. The laptop wouldn't be my primary computer, I just need something to have with me to take notes in class, run office programs, and browse the internet. Here are two questions that are of concern to me:

1) sata hard drive vs. flash storage, would i see a noticeable difference in basic usage or just when dealing with large files?

2) battery life. how is the battery life on the rev.c compared to the new 11"s. How many hours should I expect to get out of the 13" rev.c? According to wikipedia the rev.c has a 40-watt hour lithium ion polymer battery versus the 11"s 35-watt hour battery, how does this translate to actual mins/hours?

Thanks in advance :)