PDA

View Full Version : is it possible to hook up a fx5800 to a G5 powermac?


jadam
Jan 15, 2005, 03:53 PM
As topic says? would it be possible to plug in my PC's Geforce fx5800 into a powermac G5?

Sun Baked
Jan 15, 2005, 04:13 PM
Does it have an Apple ROM?

Some people are trying to flash similar PC cards with the Mac ROMs, but even with similar PC cards people experience some problems.

Trying to flash a card which doesn't have a Mac equivalent would probably create major problems.

neilrobinson
Jan 15, 2005, 06:42 PM
you would have to flash it! it can go bad ;)

cubeowner is a good place to start

solvs
Jan 16, 2005, 02:40 AM
Even if there was a Mac ROM (which there isn't) it's a pain. I did it once with a Radeon 7000, and even though I knew what I was doing, still had some issues. I did get it working finally, but I got lucky.

So... no.