PDA

View Full Version : Ripit + Handbrake to ATV 2 - DVD Quality?




benh911f
Nov 24, 2010, 02:53 AM
I'm planning on getting an iMac in the very near future, but right now still have a PC, so haven't been able to try out Ripit. Also, the video files I've converted using Handbrake so far, I've chosen the iPhone 4 preset, so I'm not sure how the files would look at a bigger size. Anyway, if I was to rip all my DVDs with Ripit and then convert with Handbrake using the ATV preset, would the resulting file, when shown via the ATV2, produce DVD quality results? If not, how much of a drop off would you say there is?
Furthermore, I see that Ripit now has the option to do the conversion process itself. To those who have experimented with it, how is the quality of the files ripped and converted all through Ripit?

Thanks.



Aidoneus
Nov 24, 2010, 06:10 AM
Using the Apple TV preset in Handbrake, I can't tell the difference between my encode and the original disc. That said, it is only being run through a 32" TV, and I am certainly not a videophile.

As for RipIt's compression feature, at the moment, I'd say you're better off with Handbrake, as it is much faster, and you are able to queue files up. There's certainly not much difference between the resulting encodes though, if you don't care about that stuff, or only want to use one app.

From A Buick 8
Nov 24, 2010, 06:34 AM
Any run through an encoding program is going to result is overall lower quality (from what i have read).

That being said, i currently rip with ripit (sometimes MTR), encode with Handbrake (high profile RF19). The resulting file looks great, i play through ATV on a 38" and 42" TV and like the post above i can not tell the difference between the original disc.

dbwie
Nov 24, 2010, 07:18 AM
I have ripped with RipIt, then encoded with Handbrake using the AppleTV preset. Happy with the results.

lewdvig
Jan 3, 2011, 01:04 AM
Ripit uses Handbrake to compress. Very simple and fast and I like the results.

I use the high quality M4V setting.

kuwisdelu
Jan 3, 2011, 01:21 AM
You shouldn't notice any difference with the ATV 2 or better preset, since it allows for 720p which is higher def than a DVD anyway.

Any run through an encoding program is going to result is overall lower quality (from what i have read).

This is true. Whether you will notice the losses is a different matter.

From A Buick 8
Jan 3, 2011, 07:10 PM
You shouldn't notice any difference with the ATV 2 or better preset, since it allows for 720p which is higher def than a DVD anyway.



This is true. Whether you will notice the losses is a different matter.

Very true, I have been very happy with the quality of all of my encodes.