Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

US Marine

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 21, 2010
Charleston, SC
So I'm brand new to Macs. I'm trying to relearn everything I know in Windows, and it's a bit overwhelming! Anyway I'm stumped by something that seems like it should be rather simple. I'm trying to listen to XM Radio Online. Safari tells me that the required plugin is not installed, but it doesn't give me any option to install it! So I installed Chrome thinking it would be smarter than Safari. Chrome shows me the little plugin icon, but it doesn't let me install the plugin either. How the heck am I supposed to install plugins in these browsers?
I've been using PC's since the days of DOS. I've developed software, built web sites, built machines, created networks, etc. But now I feel like such a noob. :confused:

dj2mc

macrumors member
Nov 24, 2010
Ottawa, ON [CAN]
So I'm brand new to Macs. I'm trying to relearn everything I know in Windows, and it's a bit overwhelming! Anyway I'm stumped by something that seems like it should be rather simple. I'm trying to listen to XM Radio Online. Safari tells me that the required plugin is not installed, but it doesn't give me any option to install it! So I installed Chrome thinking it would be smarter than Safari. Chrome shows me the little plugin icon, but it doesn't let me install the plugin either. How the heck am I supposed to install plugins in these browsers?
I've been using PC's since the days of DOS. I've developed software, built web sites, built machines, created networks, etc. But now I feel like such a noob. :confused:

I noticed you haven't mentioned Mozilla Firefox. Use that, largest support for plugins/add-ons...
Just click Here for your plugin/add-on needs. And, Firefox is the smoothest running I think.
Good luck.

US Marine

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 21, 2010
Charleston, SC