PDA

View Full Version : G4 iBook 800 - 1gig+ RAM really ok?


cleo
Jan 17, 2005, 09:13 PM
Can someone absolutely confirm that putting a 1 gig stick of RAM in a G4 800 iBook will work? Is there anything you have to do to get the RAM to be recognized?

The reason I ask... I just tried this upgrade after investing in a 1gig stick of RAM, and when I boot up, System Profiler says that the user-accessible slot is empty. Please help!

jxyama
Jan 17, 2005, 09:27 PM
obvious questions:

1) did you install it correctly?
2) did you get the right kind?

it *should* work... it shouldn't say empty, that's for sure...

cleo
Jan 18, 2005, 07:49 AM
No problem at all with installation, it snapped right into place. I'm installed more RAM than I can remember, and this went in just fine. I was grounded, did everything in the right order... no problems at all.

As for type, I used the memory finder at DMS (http://www.datamem.com/parts_that_fit_list.asp?M=iBook+G4+800+%28M9164LL%2FA%29&MF=Apple&C=) and purchased it directly from that page (which was recomended by another MR member).

I just want to know if people out there really have gotten this much RAM to work in this computer (Apple says the max is 640)... and of course, any tips to get it to work.

jxyama
Jan 18, 2005, 03:37 PM
No problem at all with installation, it snapped right into place. I'm installed more RAM than I can remember, and this went in just fine. I was grounded, did everything in the right order... no problems at all.

As for type, I used the memory finder at DMS (http://www.datamem.com/parts_that_fit_list.asp?M=iBook+G4+800+%28M9164LL%2FA%29&MF=Apple&C=) and purchased it directly from that page (which was recomended by another MR member).

I just want to know if people out there really have gotten this much RAM to work in this computer (Apple says the max is 640)... and of course, any tips to get it to work.

check out this thread. someone else is having pretty much an identical problem...

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=105705

cleo
Jan 18, 2005, 09:05 PM
Wow, seems like the third time is the charm... I popped the RAM back in again, really giving it a good shove, and sho'nuff, I have 1.12 GB of RAM! (It can be done, even when Apple says it can't!) Thanks for the help.