PDA

View Full Version : upgrade powerbook g4 leopard?




Foresterkid13
Nov 30, 2010, 05:19 PM
I just picked up a powerbook g4 15" for dirt cheap and its running 10.4.11. I'm going to school for photography and I just want to run adobe creative suite and google chrome. Would it be worth it to upgrade to leopard?



Intell
Nov 30, 2010, 05:23 PM
It depends on how much ram it has and what its CPU speed is. Go to the Apple menu in the top left and click About this Mac and tell up what it says.

Foresterkid13
Nov 30, 2010, 05:29 PM
Its running 400 MHz and 512mb of ram

Intell
Nov 30, 2010, 05:30 PM
Thats a 1st gen G4 Powerbook. I'd keep it at Tiger. Upgrading it to the max memory of 1Gb would make it slightly faster. But Leopard would run very, very slowly.

Foresterkid13
Nov 30, 2010, 05:36 PM
is there a difference in performance between using 2 512's and 1 1gb card?

Intell
Nov 30, 2010, 05:38 PM
is there a difference in performance between using 2 512's and 1 1gb card?

Your Powerbook cannot use a 1 1Gb card, because they where never made. The biggest size cards that where made are 512Mb. You need to buy two of these. You need PC-100 or PC-133, the smaller laptop kind.

Foresterkid13
Nov 30, 2010, 05:52 PM
what is the difference between pc100 and 133?

Intell
Nov 30, 2010, 05:54 PM
what is the difference between pc100 and 133?

One is faster than the other. Because your Powerbook take PC100 it can use PC133, but only at PC100 speeds.

Foresterkid13
Nov 30, 2010, 05:57 PM
awesome. thanks for the help!

California
Dec 1, 2010, 12:44 AM
awesome. thanks for the help!

Buy a 320gb PATA/IDE Western Digital Hard drive 2.5" laptop size of course.

Pop it in your 1st gen Tibook with the 1 gig of ram.

It will speed things up as well. As i recall, as a proud owner of one of those, they came with a 10gig hard drive.

iThinkergoiMac
Dec 1, 2010, 05:59 AM
I just want to run adobe creative suite and google chrome.

Since no one has commented on this part... I'd stick with CS1 or 2, and those will likely run pretty slowly on your TiBook (but still better than CS3 or 4).

Also, Google Chrome is Intel only, so no matter what OS you have, you won't be able to run it on your PowerBook. :(

InuNacho
Dec 1, 2010, 10:27 AM
I used to run CS1 on my 500 Mhz Power Mac G4 with only 512 of ram just fine. Even though that Powerbook has a slower processor and only half the graphics memory than my Power Mac, it'll probably run it exactly the same with maxed out ram.

For internet be sure to use Camino.