PDA

View Full Version : How do you test for powerpc on an Intel?




DarJ
Dec 8, 2010, 04:10 PM
I need to test that a command-line program works on ppc, but I don't have access to a machine of that type. I've been googling around and it looks like Qemu [1] might be worth exploring, but I haven't found any thorough guides on its use. I'm planning on using the open-source Darwin distribution [2] as the host OS to test the program. Does anybody have experience of this sort?
Thanks in advance.

[1] http://qemu.org
[2] http://opensource.apple.com/static/iso/



gnasher729
Dec 8, 2010, 04:19 PM
I need to test that a command-line program works on ppc, but I don't have access to a machine of that type. I've been googling around and it looks like Qemu [1] might be worth exploring, but I haven't found any thorough guides on its use. I'm planning on using the open-source Darwin distribution [2] as the host OS to test the program. Does anybody have experience of this sort?
Thanks in advance.

[1] http://qemu.org
[2] http://opensource.apple.com/static/iso/

Create a build target that compiles for PowerPC only. Make sure you have Rosetta installed.

DarJ
Dec 8, 2010, 05:23 PM
Create a build target that compiles for PowerPC only. Make sure you have Rosetta installed.

Thanks. That did indeed work. I was initially skeptical about the idea for fear that the translation process might be a bit too magical and correct the endian problems, but it didn't, so I can confirm the program needs fixing.

Thanks again.