PDA

View Full Version : PowerMac G4 DP 1.25 MDD Flashing Radeon 9800 Pro 256




pixlgeek
Dec 18, 2010, 12:47 AM
Ahoy MacRumors,

So I recently purchased a Radeon 9800 Pro 256 (I think it's the 8chip model, due to the fact that it has what looks like 8 memory chips with 8 heatsinks)

Anyhow,

After doing my research, I've been trying to flash the appropriate ROM to get the card to function properly in the machine. However, after trying a few different ROMS, it simply will not display an image. All that I get is colored dashed lines that run vertical.

Here is the interesting thing, all the ROMS listed for the 256 card use 378/337.5 MHz Core/Clock Speeds, however, when I open Graphiccelerator, it tells me the core and clock speed is 350/325. I thought this may be one of the issues.

When looking through the ROM list, the only ROM that matches that clock speed seems to be the 128 card.

Also, another interesting observation, after startup chime, it gives those crazy verticle lines, and for about 1 1/2 seconds i see the solid blue screen (the screen right before it displays the OS), then it fades nicely back to those crazy lines. It seems like it wants to work but there is some sort of conflict in the ROM perhaps.

Could this be a driver issue? I tried researching but couldnt find info on any kind of driver for this card.

Also, System Profiler recognizes the card as a 9800 Pro with 256 Memory so the machine is recognizing it just fine. I taped pins 3/11 so that isnt the issue.

I really am looking forward to getting this card working and I feel like I'm so close. Any recommendations?

One thing, I did not desolder and resolder those few resisters that bypasses the 64K restriction due to the fact that Graphiccelerator bypasses this on its own. Should I have done that? Would it even make a difference?

Thanks so much MacRumors.

-pixl

And as reference:

http://themacelite.wikidot.com/9800-working (I believe mine is the 8 chip model)
http://themacelite.wikidot.com/wikidownloads2
http://thomas.perrier.name/index.html
http://thomas.perrier.name/otherStuff/ati9800convertEN.html
http://thomas.perrier.name/otherStuff/ati9800convertEN.html

Thanks!



pixlgeek
Dec 18, 2010, 01:06 AM
Side Note: With the card installed, I am able to remote desktop into the machine, that's how I am getting this info and reflashing different variations.

I've tried around 5 different ROMS all give the same result, but with variations on the lined pattern that is displayed. There was one also that caused a different type of flicker on the blue screen.

I'm pretty sure the card is not a bad card simply b/c it can be read, and the person I bought from seemed to insist that it was in perfect working order.

Thanks,

-pixl

666sheep
Dec 18, 2010, 11:44 AM
Post picture of the card and these lines you get on the screen.
Vertical lines are mostly indicating a bad card. Even if seller is telling you something different. Reflash it with original ROM and test in PC.

pixlgeek
Dec 19, 2010, 04:42 PM
Ok I've taken the photos and included a video of the boot process...

http://www.pixlgeek.com/radeon/vid.3gp
http://www.pixlgeek.com/radeon/front.jpg
http://www.pixlgeek.com/radeon/back.jpg
http://www.pixlgeek.com/radeon/serial.jpg
http://www.pixlgeek.com/radeon/info1.png
http://www.pixlgeek.com/radeon/info2.png

As you can see it goes to a blue screen briefly which looks like it should be appropriate. Like an idiot, I didn't create a backup of the original ROM, so I suppose I should search now for the ROM online to test it in my PC. But the card looks to be in pristine condition.

Any help on this is really appreciated.

BTW this is running the 9800 Pro 256MB 130 ROM the patterns vary slightly depending on the ROM I flash onto the card.

666sheep
Dec 19, 2010, 05:07 PM
OK, now I see where the problem lies. You've bought non-flashable card. It's 16 chip DDR2 version which has been never flashed succesfully: http://themacelite.wikidot.com/flasher-s-buying-guide-9800 I've read about these cards on Strangedogs forum and there was no solution found.
Try to contact Thomas Perrier but if he was never created ROM for these cards, I'm afraid that no one is able to do it. Flashing community is now very small and it's focused rather on EFI cards.

Edit: I can't watch your video now (for some odd reason it doesn't want to play on my PB), but I see no lines on your screenshots. Are they created via VNC?

pixlgeek
Dec 19, 2010, 05:17 PM
How do you know it's the DDR2 version? What shows you that? From what I've seen, mine is only DDR. Besides, there seems to be a version of the ROM for the DDR2 card listed on the site...

Thanks for your help with this.

The lines are in the video:

http://www.pixlgeek.com/radeon/lines.png

pixlgeek
Dec 19, 2010, 05:26 PM
I flashed the DDR2 version of the ROM and still the same results.

I looked at photos on Gimages and you're right it looks to be the DDR2 card, but I could have sworn that I saw somewhere that this card was being read as DDR...

Curious..

666sheep
Dec 19, 2010, 05:27 PM
How do you know it's the DDR2 version? What shows you that?

Because AFAIR all 16 chips 9800 were DDR2 (there's possibility that I'm wrong OFC). Check out link I've posted above: it's fifth picture counting from the top of page. Read description.

pixlgeek
Dec 19, 2010, 05:35 PM
Ugh, just my luck. Lol at least now I have a pretty paper-weight.

I think you are definitely right. What luck.

Well I'll keep looking, I really appreciate your replies, at least you've helped me determine the issue.

If you think of anything I should try, aside from buying a new card which I will be doing anyways, please let me know. Also, if you can think of a way I might restore the original ROM onto this card, that would be great. I'd still like to use it in my PC if I could reflash the original ROM.

Thanks.

666sheep
Dec 19, 2010, 05:45 PM
If you think of anything I should try, aside from buying a new card which I will be doing anyways, please let me know. Also, if you can think of a way I might restore the original ROM onto this card, that would be great. I'd still like to use it in my PC if I could reflash the original ROM.


I have no idea how get it work, especially when old "flashmasters" didn't figure this out...:(

Type product number here: http://apps.ati.com/102lookup/ - may be it can reveal some additional info about your card. It looks to me like Sapphire or HIS product - judging by PCB layout and heatsink.

Here you'll find huge BIOS database: http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/ - maybe there will be PC ROM for this card.