Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

KyleKlink

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 22, 2009
Santa Maria, Ca
I've read through a lot of posts about the new 11,6" MBA, and after visiting the Apple store to test drive the machine myself I've come to the conclusion that it would be a good fit for my needs. I need a laptop to use at work as a secondary computer for both personal uses (email, facebook, spaceflightnow.com) and for business uses (running tests on demo versions of the web-based software that I support for a living).

My only concern about the 11,6" model is the RAM: is 2 GB enough? I know I know, it makes sense to upgrade the RAM because I cannot do so on my own later on. But with my light use, I'm not sure I even need the additional RAM. Again, my uses:

1. Web browsing (95% of my use)
2. Microsoft Word (typing papers for school when I should be working)
3. Possibly some Microsoft Excel work once in a blue moon
4. iTunes

Given these uses, I think 2GB might be enough, and the $90 I'd spend on upgrading the RAM could go towards more pressing issues, like putting food on the table.

Some thoughts? Experiences? Complaints about how pointless my question is?

Matthew Yohe

macrumors 68020
Oct 12, 2006
Wait a month or whatever it takes to feed yourself AND get 4GB.

Seriously. Lion will be out next year, and while it likely won't greatly increase the requirements, it will add more features that may be aided by more RAM.

Shasta McNasty

macrumors 6502a
Jan 5, 2010
Southern Cali
I think you'll be more than fine. Most users here have to have the "best" even if they don't need it. For me, more than likely ill end up selling/trading the air that i have for whatever new one comes out. Its the way i am, so its not a big deal.

altecXP

macrumors 65816
Aug 3, 2009
Currently OS X says Im using 2.94GB. I have Adium, Chrome and Activity monitor running, + OS X.

4GB is minimum.

crut