PDA

View Full Version : installing Leopard on PowerBook




zoran
Dec 28, 2010, 04:57 PM
does this kind of installation require some trick to be done?



leekohler
Dec 28, 2010, 05:03 PM
does this kind of installation require some trick to be done?

No- it should be fine, as long as you're not talking about Snow Leopard. 10.5 is perfectly compatible with PPC Macs. If I were you, I would make sure to max out the RAM.

Rodus
Dec 28, 2010, 05:42 PM
As long as your CPU is 867 MHz or faster otherwise it isn't quite as straightforward.

zoran
Dec 29, 2010, 12:05 PM
my cpu is 1.67mhz, i suppose its ok

datamonger128
Dec 29, 2010, 12:21 PM
1.67MHz? You must be using an Apple I or something.

Dr McKay
Dec 29, 2010, 01:10 PM
Wow, thats a slow processor, please say that was a typo?

zoran
Dec 29, 2010, 01:14 PM
hahah sorry guys, yes its a typo, its Ghz... so what do you think?

tom vilsack
Dec 29, 2010, 01:15 PM
your good...try and max your ram (nice and easy on powerbook)

leekohler
Dec 30, 2010, 10:03 AM
You'll be fine, just max the RAM.

techbyed
Jan 1, 2011, 11:32 PM
I am typing this on one of the last model G4 Powerbooks. I have 2 Gigs RAM and Leopard 10.5.8. Things work just fine, no tricks needed. DVD drive reads the Leopard DVD-DL just fine. I installed on a brand new HDD and farmed my old disk out to an external case.

zoran
Jan 2, 2011, 07:33 AM
I am typing this on one of the last model G4 Powerbooks. I have 2 Gigs RAM and Leopard 10.5.8. Things work just fine, no tricks needed. DVD drive reads the Leopard DVD-DL just fine. I installed on a brand new HDD and farmed my old disk out to an external case.
cool which model do you have? is it the 1.65Ghz?

iThinkergoiMac
Jan 2, 2011, 12:40 PM
There is no 1.65 GHz PBG4. If it's last gen, it's either 1.5 GHz or 1.67 GHz.

zoran
Jan 2, 2011, 12:42 PM
There is no 1.65 GHz PBG4. If it's last gen, it's either 1.5 GHz or 1.67 GHz.
im not good with numbers sorry :D its 1.65

zoran
Jan 9, 2011, 05:52 AM
Just to make one thing straight, before i make the reinstallation...
If i remember correctly the guy that gave me that Powerbook had told me that he installed Leopard on it by some special way and not normally. Can this be true?

Also while the OS is starting, the screen looks like a DOS screen with a lot of text/commands running trough it... why is this happening?

techbyed do you have the same issues at boot with all those commands n stuff?

chrismacguy
Jan 9, 2011, 11:31 AM
Just to make one thing straight, before i make the reinstallation...
If i remember correctly the guy that gave me that Powerbook had told me that he installed Leopard on it by some special way and not normally. Can this be true?

Also while the OS is starting, the screen looks like a DOS screen with a lot of text/commands running trough it... why is this happening?

techbyed do you have the same issues at boot with all those commands n stuff?

It can be true, but it should work perfectly normally as your PowerBook is supported. Also, it sounds like your OS is booting in "Verbose Mode" instead of Normal Mode.

zoran
Jan 9, 2011, 12:02 PM
It can be true, but it should work perfectly normally as your PowerBook is supported. Also, it sounds like your OS is booting in "Verbose Mode" instead of Normal Mode.
1. What does Verbose Mode practically mean?
2. Slower speeds?
3. Please tell me more about this and why does it run in this mode?

California
Jan 9, 2011, 02:52 PM
Take your Powerbook in to an Apple store. Sounds like you might have a logic board failure, i.e. text on the screen. Leopard should install on it just fine, if you have a retail Leopard dvd, not a gray install disc from some other computer. Have the Apple store check your ram too.

chrismacguy
Jan 9, 2011, 03:18 PM
Take your Powerbook in to an Apple store. Sounds like you might have a logic board failure, i.e. text on the screen.

Nonsense. A logic board failiure wouldnt cause a Verbose Boot ("text on the screen") - It would either cause a kernel panic and stop it booting, or stop the machine starting completely. To the OP, try disabling verbose boot using the procedure in this article: http://osxdaily.com/2007/03/25/always-boot-mac-os-x-in-verbose-mode/. Verbose mode is just an option as Mac OS X is based on UNIX, it in effect lets you see the UNIXy underpinnings of the boot process - its a useful diagnostic tool, but could get annoying if their constantly.

iThinkergoiMac
Jan 9, 2011, 07:38 PM
im not good with numbers sorry :D its 1.65

That's the one I said doesn't exist ;)

Just giving you a hard time, we all know what you mean :D

California
Jan 9, 2011, 10:20 PM
Nonsense. A logic board failiure wouldnt cause a Verbose Boot ("text on the screen") - It would either cause a kernel panic and stop it booting, or stop the machine starting completely. To the OP, try disabling verbose boot using the procedure in this article: http://osxdaily.com/2007/03/25/always-boot-mac-os-x-in-verbose-mode/. Verbose mode is just an option as Mac OS X is based on UNIX, it in effect lets you see the UNIXy underpinnings of the boot process - its a useful diagnostic tool, but could get annoying if their constantly.

You could be right, i was thinking about the "you must restart your computer" screen on a logic board failure.

zoran
Feb 21, 2012, 03:28 AM
Ok guys, i think im ready to install Leopard, or should it be Tiger? Maybe it will run faster with Tiger? What do you think?
Anyhow what should i do in order to make the installation? How should i prepare things? I have data on the PBook that i want to save and make a clean installation!

zoran
Feb 24, 2012, 02:13 AM
one more thing, to which point does the system notify me that the OSX disc used cannot be used if its an OEM for eg. will it let me begin installation or what?