PDA

View Full Version : Got me a WD Raptor, 10000 RPM


northen
Jan 26, 2005, 02:43 AM
After not being able to find one, I finally got one :D I got the 36.7 GB edition, for about $150 (naughty)... Installing it took about 3 minutes (main time factor was my shakin' nervous handds :p ) Booted up.... It worked :D

Installed Panther on it.... and now it boots up in like the half time as when it was on my 250 GB Maxtor :eek: Everything feels a -lot- faster too now :cool: Probably due to the VM being quite that bit faster....

In terms of loudness, I wouldn't say it's much worse than the Maxtors, Apple bundle with their computers... Sure, the seek/read/write sounds are a bit loud, but it's definitely possible to ignore it... heck, I sleep in the same room as it :P

If there's anyone in here, who's contemplating to get one of these drives, I can only say: GET IT :D

nylon
Jan 26, 2005, 03:08 AM
After not being able to find one, I finally got one :D I got the 36.7 GB edition, for about $150 (naughty)... Installing it took about 3 minutes (main time factor was my shakin' nervous handds :p ) Booted up.... It worked :D

Installed Panther on it.... and now it boots up in like the half time as when it was on my 250 GB Maxtor :eek: Everything feels a -lot- faster too now :cool: Probably due to the VM being quite that bit faster....

In terms of loudness, I wouldn't say it's much worse than the Maxtors, Apple bundle with their computers... Sure, the seek/read/write sounds are a bit loud, but it's definitely possible to ignore it... heck, I sleep in the same room as it :P

If there's anyone in here, who's contemplating to get one of these drives, I can only say: GET IT :D

I wish they made serial ata to firewire hard drive enclosures. Can you imagine hooking it up to a Mac mini and booting of the drive. It would fly!!

cluthz
Jan 26, 2005, 03:13 AM
I wish they made serial ata to firewire hard drive enclosures. Can you imagine hooking it up to a Mac mini and booting of the drive. It would fly!!

Nah, the firewire would be a bottleneck, capping max transfer rates @~40MB/sec and increasing latency and access time..

northen
Jan 26, 2005, 06:26 AM
Nah, the firewire would be a bottleneck, capping max transfer rates @~40MB/sec and increasing latency and access time..
And considering the CPU overhead.... oh dear ;)

Hoef
Jan 26, 2005, 07:02 AM
If there's anyone in here, who's contemplating to get one of these drives, I can only say: GET IT :D

Thinking about it ..... Not looking forward to reinstall OS + applications

Lacero
Jan 26, 2005, 07:09 AM
Drive too small for the trade-off in boot times. Not worth it.

northen
Jan 26, 2005, 07:14 AM
Thinking about it ..... Not looking forward to reinstall OS + applications

Awww, it takes 4 hours tops, and you'll be so happy afterwards :D

Brize
Jan 26, 2005, 07:50 AM
Thinking about it ..... Not looking forward to reinstall OS + applications

I'm in the same boat. Have now decided to wait until Tiger (when I'd want to do a fresh install anyway) and get it all sorted at the same time.

northen
Jan 26, 2005, 09:49 AM
I'm in the same boat. Have now decided to wait until Tiger (when I'd want to do a fresh install anyway) and get it all sorted at the same time.
When is Tiger supposed to be out anyway? :p

Lord Blackadder
Jan 26, 2005, 10:04 AM
I'll probably wait until the 10k drives get into the 250GB range before I buy, although my SATA controller has one channel left - and it's tempting.

Laslo Panaflex
Jan 26, 2005, 10:13 AM
I got the 36.7 GB edition, for about $150 (naughty)...

For $150 you could have got the 74GB model from newegg (http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=22-144-160&depa=1)

Sorry to rain on your parade, I was just surprised that you paid that much, and that you had a hard time finding one.

northen
Jan 26, 2005, 10:26 AM
For $150 you could have got the 74GB model from newegg (http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=22-144-160&depa=1)

Sorry to rain on your parade, I was just surprised that you paid that much, and that you had a hard time finding one.
I don't live in the US, and subsequently can't shop from NewEgg.

Hodapp
Jan 26, 2005, 10:30 AM
I've got two of the 10K RPM Raptors running RAID 0 in my WinXP gaming PC. You think one is fast? You ain't seen NOTHIN' yet!!!

I LOVE these drives, and I too am waiting for them to increase in storage capacity, I'd swap out the drives in my G5 in a second when they hit 250GB. I need space more than I need speed in my Mac unfortunately. :(

Lancetx
Jan 26, 2005, 10:31 AM
The Raptor drives are great. My girlfriend has one of the 74GB drives in her PowerMac G5 and it's blazing fast as a boot drive. It's definitely been worth the money. Congrats.

Laslo Panaflex
Jan 26, 2005, 10:40 AM
I don't live in the US, and subsequently can't shop from NewEgg.

Likely excuse. :p

cluthz
Jan 26, 2005, 10:53 AM
For $150 you could have got the 74GB model from newegg (http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=22-144-160&depa=1)

Sorry to rain on your parade, I was just surprised that you paid that much, and that you had a hard time finding one.

$150 isn't that much for a Raptor if you liive in scandinavia, everything costs twice here compared to the US..

nylon
Jan 26, 2005, 10:53 AM
Nah, the firewire would be a bottleneck, capping max transfer rates @~40MB/sec and increasing latency and access time..

Damn it, you just ruined my pipe dream! :)

daveL
Jan 26, 2005, 11:09 AM
I'll probably wait until the 10k drives get into the 250GB range before I buy, although my SATA controller has one channel left - and it's tempting.
Don't hold your breath; it will be a couple of years, at least, before you see 10K drives that big. Due to the centrifugal forces involved in 10K and 15K drives, they have to cut the plater diameter down to keep the drive from flying apart. Then there's the heat problem. You might see a reliable 150 GB drive in a year or so, but it will be expensive for a while.

Windowlicker
Jan 26, 2005, 11:12 AM
I've got two of the 10K RPM Raptors running RAID 0 in my WinXP gaming PC. You think one is fast? You ain't seen NOTHIN' yet!!!

Totally off topic, but how the hell have you got so many computers?! And why?

Windowlicker
Jan 26, 2005, 11:28 AM
$150 isn't that much for a Raptor if you liive in scandinavia, everything costs twice here compared to the US..

Indeed. Sadly. :/ I hope the raptors would hit around 150gb soon.. I'm really interested in getting one.. the problem is I need some space too. this 160gb just isn't quite enough :(

Hodapp
Jan 26, 2005, 11:31 AM
Totally off topic, but how the hell have you got so many computers?! And why?

Why not?

Hemingray
Jan 26, 2005, 11:56 AM
I've got two of the 10K RPM Raptors running RAID 0 in my WinXP gaming PC. You think one is fast? You ain't seen NOTHIN' yet!!!

Just out of curiosity, but why do you need RAID 0 in a gaming rig? It's not like it drastically improves gaming performance. Do you use the rig for HD-heavy apps too, I'm assuming?

Hodapp
Jan 26, 2005, 11:57 AM
Just out of curiosity, but why do you need RAID 0 in a gaming rig? It's not like it drastically improves gaming performance. Do you use the rig for HD-heavy apps too, I'm assuming?

You've never loaded a map in Doom 3. :)

neut
Jan 26, 2005, 12:23 PM
Thinking about it ..... Not looking forward to reinstall OS + applications

Carbon Copy Cloner (http://www.bombich.com/software/ccc.html)


peace.

Hemingray
Jan 26, 2005, 05:27 PM
You've never loaded a map in Doom 3. :)

There you go, see I didn't even think about map loading times. I knew there was a logical reason. :)

Hoef
Jan 26, 2005, 05:33 PM
I'm in the same boat. Have now decided to wait until Tiger (when I'd want to do a fresh install anyway) and get it all sorted at the same time.

Yep ... Excellent idea!

Jo-Kun
Jan 27, 2005, 04:29 AM
I read that the read/write speeds are equal comparing a 10krmp drive with 8MB buffer to the new 'slower' 250/300GB SATA drives with 16MB buffer... since I need allso big storage I guess I'm more in the market for one of those...

J

GodBless
Jan 27, 2005, 05:01 AM
Carbon Copy Cloner (http://www.bombich.com/software/ccc.html)


peace.

Better yet SuperDuper! I stopped using Carbon Copy Clowner (CCC) when I searched the web for a better utility than CCC for the Mac. That's because I found SuperDuper!. I use SuperDuper! all the time to make a complete bootable backup of my system. Everything is copied but a few temporary files you don't need anyway. It works much better then the old school CCC.

Here is the link:http://www.shirt-pocket.com/SuperDuper/SuperDuperDescription.html

The shareware version lets you do as many full system copies as you want and never expires. Hope it helps.

virividox
Jan 27, 2005, 05:32 AM
I've got two of the 10K RPM Raptors running RAID 0 in my WinXP gaming PC. You think one is fast? You ain't seen NOTHIN' yet!!!

I LOVE these drives, and I too am waiting for them to increase in storage capacity, I'd swap out the drives in my G5 in a second when they hit 250GB. I need space more than I need speed in my Mac unfortunately. :(

solitaire must be b*tching fast!!! :)

you got a nice set up with ur gaming rig!!!

neut
Jan 27, 2005, 09:30 AM
Here is the link:http://www.shirt-pocket.com/SuperDuper/SuperDuperDescription.html

The shareware version lets you do as many full system copies as you want and never expires. Hope it helps.

interesting ... i like the clone's Smart Update feature. :)

i'll look into it, Thanks!


peace.

Windowlicker
Feb 9, 2005, 03:17 AM
edit. D'OH!

Bear
Feb 9, 2005, 07:26 AM
Orf course the other issue that one must keep in mind with the Western Digital Raptor Drives is that it is in fact a Western Digital Drive.

At this point I wouldn't buy a drive made by Western Digital. Too many odd issuesas well as early drive failures.

neut
Feb 9, 2005, 10:08 AM
Orf course the other issue that one must keep in mind with the Western Digital Raptor Drives is that it is in fact a Western Digital Drive.

At this point I wouldn't buy a drive made by Western Digital. Too many odd issuesas well as early drive failures.

the only problems i ever had with a hard drive was a seagate 10,000. original SCISI from a dual 450 G4. that drive was fast, but it lasted less than two years. it gave out the night before our CD release party and kicked back on one more time for the show. :D ... then it died forever. :(

i've gone bought/installed many 5,400 and 7,200 drives from multiple manufacturers. all have been good to me. :)

i think that extra 2,700 rpm stresses the machanics quite a bit.


peace.

kainjow
Apr 25, 2005, 09:27 PM
So does the 10,000 rpm hard drive really make a big difference in general use? I do a lot of stuff on my DP 1.8Ghz G5, and was considering buying a 74GB 10,000 rpm drive. Does the OS boot up much faster?

:)

carlos700
Apr 25, 2005, 10:39 PM
For those who want a big 10,000 RPM hard drive:

Newegg.com has a 300GB SCSI Ultra320 Hard Drive 10,000 RPM for $857.

You will also need a Mac SCSI Ultra320 Hard Drive controller card too.

It's expensive. :eek:

dotdotdot
Apr 25, 2005, 11:11 PM
I was thinking about a new 20 GB HD for music, and a 36 GB HD is perfect - and at this speed I'll reinstall XP (a bitch to do - call up Microsoft???) and it will be lightning fast.

Celeron
Apr 26, 2005, 05:26 AM
I've got two of the 10K RPM Raptors running RAID 0 in my WinXP gaming PC. You think one is fast? You ain't seen NOTHIN' yet!!!

I LOVE these drives, and I too am waiting for them to increase in storage capacity, I'd swap out the drives in my G5 in a second when they hit 250GB. I need space more than I need speed in my Mac unfortunately. :(

Hate to burst your bubble there buddy, but it was proven, on a number of websites, that running RAID-0 has practically little improvement when running games. See Anandtech's article here:
http://www.anandtech.com/storage/showdoc.aspx?i=2101&p=11

Let me just pull a quick quote out:

"If you haven't gotten the hint by now, we'll spell it out for you: there is no place, and no need for a RAID-0 array on a desktop computer. The real world performance increases are negligible at best and the reduction in reliability, thanks to a halving of the mean time between failure, makes RAID-0 far from worth it on the desktop."

Back in the day, RAID-0 was worth it. I even had a RAID-0 setup. Now drives are fast enough that 1 drive is far better.