PDA

View Full Version : Possible Upgrades For Powermac G5?




MacintoshMaster
Dec 31, 2010, 02:23 PM
Hi there,
I will soon be buying this powermac:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/APPLE-G5-POWER-MAC-DUAL-2-0-GHz-1-GB-RAM-80-GB-HD-/270657816759?pt=UK_Computing_Apple_Desktops_CV&hash=item3f047688b7#ht_4277wt_907

I know it's fast as it is but I will be using logic pro 8 on it for some recording. Apps I will be using:

iWork
Microsoft Office
iLife
Logic Pro 8


I want to upgrade it. The reason I just don't wait and save up for a second hand intel is because I need this computer FAST - So I want to upgrade it as a go along.

I know the Max Ram is 8 gig but what is the maximum Hard Drive in space and speed? What type of hard drive would I need? Can it run solid state? Can the DVD drive be upgraded? Can the graphics card be upgraded? If so, which one? What other stuff can I upgrade?

Thanks,
J :apple:



iBookG4user
Dec 31, 2010, 02:35 PM
I know the Max Ram is 8 gig but what is the maximum Hard Drive in space and speed? What type of hard drive would I need? Can it run solid state? Can the DVD drive be upgraded? Can the graphics card be upgraded? If so, which one? What other stuff can I upgrade?

Thanks,
J :apple:

If you are set on that computer, it would be able to take a SSD. However, it would be limited 150MB/sec due to the speed of the SATA bus in that computer. So don't invest in a nice SSD and expect it to run at the full speed that it is capable of. Other than the RAM and the HDD, there really isn't that much that you could upgrade that would make that much of a difference.

MacintoshMaster
Dec 31, 2010, 02:39 PM
If you are set on that computer, it would be able to take a SSD. However, it would be limited 150MB/sec due to the speed of the SATA bus in that computer. So don't invest in a nice SSD and expect it to run at the full speed that it is capable of. Other than the RAM and the HDD, there really isn't that much that you could upgrade that would make that much of a difference.


So would a SSD be no faster than a good standard HD?

iBookG4user
Dec 31, 2010, 02:41 PM
So would a SSD be no faster than a good standard HD?

It would still be significantly faster, but you would not see the full benefit of the SSD. But once you get a new computer that has a SATA 3 bus, then you would be able to take full advantage of the SSD.

MacintoshMaster
Dec 31, 2010, 02:46 PM
It would still be significantly faster, but you would not see the full benefit of the SSD. But once you get a new computer that has a SATA 3 bus, then you would be able to take full advantage of the SSD.

Thankyou,
Please could you tell me what SSD would work? And please could you tell me what type of standard HD would work and the size limit?

Thank you very much.

iBookG4user
Dec 31, 2010, 03:10 PM
Thankyou,
Please could you tell me what SSD would work? And please could you tell me what type of standard HD would work and the size limit?

Thank you very much.

Any 2.5" SATA SSD would work, you just need to get a converter case like this (http://eshop.macsales.com/item/IcyDock/MB882SP1S2B/).

MacintoshMaster
Dec 31, 2010, 03:14 PM
Any 2.5" SATA SSD would work, you just need to get a converter case like this (http://eshop.macsales.com/item/IcyDock/MB882SP1S2B/).

Thanks!
I have seen the prices of the SSD and I can't afford it - What type of standard HD would work? What is the limit in size (eg. 3TB)

Thanks

VanneDC
Jan 1, 2011, 02:44 AM
SSD? wth??

the best upgrade you can do for that powermac your getting/buying is to up the ram to at least 6 gigs and stick in a updated video card, like the X800XT or similar...

I wouldent really bother with an SSD in this unit as the bus transfer speed will limit the speed of the SSD.

any any rate, a great box. :)