Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

yyc engineer

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 6, 2010
I'm gonna pick up my new MBA this week but was wondering about what version of flash to install.

Since it doesn't come with flash and 10.2 beta has been recieving rave reviews...would I be better off to install 10.2 (which is in beta) or 10.1?

I'm not a developer or anything, just gonna use it to stream off cbc.ca and thecomedynetwork.com (south park lol)

Thanks for the info.

Hellhammer

Moderator emeritus
Dec 10, 2008
Finland
I would use 10.2, it has been great on my MBA. You can always uninstall it if it is causing issues

Krad3130

macrumors regular
Mar 24, 2010
Winter Park, FL
Would you also say that 10.2 is good for my 2010 MBP as well? I don't NEED flash but some sites I go on use it. I just want whichever the best flash player is...even though I know they all suck in one capacity or another ;)

flatfoot

macrumors 65816
Aug 11, 2009
After testing Flash 10.2 and Click2Flash on my MBA11, I installed those two on my wife's MacBook, too. Saves battery life there just as it does on the MBA.

dokindo

macrumors regular
Feb 4, 2009
How do you use 10.2 with Chrome?

I installed chrome, uninstalled flash since chrome came with 10.1, then installed 10.2, enabled the plugin, but it wouldn't load flash.

Hellhammer

Moderator emeritus
Dec 10, 2008
Finland

I installed chrome, uninstalled flash since chrome came with 10.1, then installed 10.2, enabled the plugin, but it wouldn't load flash.

Chrome has built-in Flash player and its updates are included in Chrome updates so I don't think you can upgrade it manually with Chrome

potentpotable

macrumors regular
Oct 22, 2010
Toronto
10.2 beta constantly crashes on me, with Firefox 4 beta (b07 and newer). I've installed it twice now and run the debugger, no solution. It's really annoying to have to refresh my page every time I watch a video.