Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

a-m-k

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Sep 3, 2009
Unfortunately, I didn't think of backing up anything. The only thing I need to replace actually is my "system preferences" (The one that you can change your background and whatnot... I understand there are at least two system prefrences.

This happened a few days ago, that I deleted off a "system preferences" icon because I had two for some reason. I am new to this aspect.... I am still learning the tricks...

I would like to know what do I have to do to insure everything is going to be ok? The only things that I know are there that I want to save is my Itnes library. Unfortunately, I was niave in thinkng that removing one innocent looking icon on my doc wasn't going to be a problem.

I'm going to reinstall sooner or later, I just want to know how I would go about backing up my Itunes? Would setting up a Time Machine disk now be beneficial without system prefrences. I do have a cousin(-in-law) who is like us. (MAC-"geek") and he has offered to help when I find the disk I need.

I have learned my lesson. I should have just put the "added" system preferences in a folder I created to clean up my doc.

Thank you in advance for any information you can give me so I can be a bit prepaired for what I have to do after I reinstall OSX.

deeddawg

macrumors G5
Jun 14, 2010
US
Before you do something drastic, a couple questions...

You say you deleted a Systems Prefs icon from your dock. Did you just delete it from the dock or from the Applications folder within the dock?

What happens if you click on the :apple: symbol at the top-left of your screen and choose "System Preferences" from the menu?

newdeal

macrumors 68030
Oct 21, 2009