PDA

View Full Version : MBA 11inch keyboard against screen

AntonisCy
Jan 7, 2011, 03:59 PM
Hello guys. Since i got my new MBA im afraid of closing the lid without using the factory keyboard layer fearing the keys may scratch the monitor. Am i being paranoid? Im sure the keyboard has been designed as to not touch the screen when its folded right?

Thanks

leowyatt
Jan 7, 2011, 04:01 PM
Just close it :) It'll be fine

maerz001
Jan 7, 2011, 04:48 PM
fore sure it's designed to work without the tissue

iRun26.2
Jan 7, 2011, 05:16 PM
I know what you mean. It is such a nice looking machine that you don't want to take any chances in marring it up. But remember, you should be able to use it normally. If it would get it marked up in that way you should get it fixed for free. Use it normally to find out if something like shows up. Don't wait until your warranty is up before you use it normally!

iRun26.2
Jan 7, 2011, 06:59 PM
Sorry for the doublepost.

ITASOR
Jan 7, 2011, 07:27 PM
The keyboard won't touch the screen unless there's pressure on the top (such as books in a backpack). Look at the Radtech Screensaverz to protect against this.

sunrisemusic
Jan 7, 2011, 08:45 PM
or just use a piece of slightly cut down A4 paper, like I do. Used to use that with an old G4 powerbook too - protect screen from finger grease, etc... cheaper than buying a commercial screen protector that does the same thing.

TMar
Jan 7, 2011, 10:21 PM
Under normal conditions the screen isn't going to touch the keyboard, even if they did there would have to be some type of sideways motion to be able to scratch the screen. You can take a razor and press it right onto the screen as long as you don't slide the cutting edge against the screen it isn't going to scratch.

Spyharpy
Jan 8, 2011, 12:00 AM
I use a microfiber keyboard cover (ScreenSavrs) from RadTech. You can use it to clean your screen as well. Had it for my 12" Powerbook and got it for my 13" Air. I also picked up the slip cover for it too.