Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mrtibs

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 9, 2011
Hi,

I'm new to the iPhone programming world and I have an app that I've been trying to get to work for a week with no success. I wish I could be articulate and ask my question without including code, but I can't do it. (I also hate looking at other people's code in threads...).

I'm trying to build an app that includes a UITabBarController and a UINavigationController. I have seen examples on how to get this working in Interface Builder, but I want to do it programatically. I have created a Tab Bar Application and in MainWindow.xib I correctly hooked up 5 View Controllers.

In my ClientAppDelegate.h file, I have:
Code:
IBOutlet UIWindow *window;
IBOutlet UITabBarController *rootController;
IBOutlet UINavigationController *navController;
and
applicationDidFinishLaunching()
//navController = [[UINavigationController alloc] init];
//navController = [[UINavigationController alloc] initWithNibName:@"WizardView" bundle:nil];
[window addSubview:rootController.view];

My second View Controller (WizardViewController) has the following code:
viewDidLoad()
ClientAppDelegate *delegate = [[UIApplication sharedApplication] delegate];
UINavigationController *navController = delegate.navController;
[self.view addSubview:navController.view];
[super viewDidLoad];

I created a separate nib file (WizardView.xib) which contains the following:
1. File's owner - hooked up to WizardViewController
2. view - connected to WizardViewController's view
3. a NavigationController whose class type is WizardNavigationController
4. a ClientAppDelegate, whose navController is hooked up to the NavigationController

In my WizardNavigationController (derived from UITableViewController), I have code which populates the table view:
didSelectRowAtIndexPath()
{
NSUInteger row = [indexPath row];