PDA

View Full Version : airport extreme base station firewall


m.r.m.
Jan 29, 2005, 04:56 AM
how do i turn it off?

i did a search, but couldnīt find anything helpful.

thanks a lot for your time & trouble. :)

Gee
Jan 29, 2005, 05:26 AM
how do i turn it off?

i did a search, but couldnīt find anything helpful.

thanks a lot for your time & trouble. :)

Might be being stupid here, but I didn't realize they had a firewall. There's one on your computer, in system preferences > sharing > firewall though.

Applespider
Jan 29, 2005, 09:58 AM
Why do you need to? It may be that you just need to forward some ports from the Extreme to your Mac?

m.r.m.
Jan 29, 2005, 11:35 AM
how do i forward ports?

i have the firewall option on my mac off.

i need to do this because my uni network is networked through a program called direct connect. only people in the college dorms have access. i have to switch to passive mode in this program (with my pc as well as my powerbook) because of the airport extreme base station. at present the ethernet cable goes from the wall socket into the ae base station and then the pc is connected to it via cable and the powerbook via wireless access.

Applespider
Jan 29, 2005, 12:08 PM
Not sure if it will help in this scenario - sorry.

But you can forward ports in the Airport Admin Utility - select your airport network, click on configure and go to port mapping/forwarding. Tell it which port you are opening on your router and map it to a port on your local machine. And restart the router.

appletalk
Jan 29, 2005, 02:20 PM
I had posted this same exact question a few days back with no answers...

Can you possibly give a step by step on how to open a port?
How about for port 6346 for some file sharing?

I know the airport admin utility is in the utilities folder, and I know which ports I want to open, I just do not know the correct way of opening them.
For instance, where would I find out my ip for my computer? Does this change on each restart? What port would I forward to on my computer? The same as the one I am trying to open?

I am just not understanding this part. A step by step tutorial would be awsome and much apreciated! You don't have to use valid ip's or info or anything.

Thank you very much!

Applespider
Jan 29, 2005, 03:16 PM
I've only done it a couple of times but here goes

Go to your system preferences and open the port you want to use in Sharing/Firewall. It may already be set up or you may have to go into new, give it a name and choose the ports you are opening.

While you're in System Preferences, go to Network and check the TCP/IP details for your network connection. It will tell you your IP address (eg 10.0.1.3) and your router (10.0.1.1)

Then go to the Airport Utility, select your airport base, click Configure and go to Port Mapping.

Click on 'new', put in the port you want to open, put in the computer you want to map it to (eg the 10.0.1.3) and the port number you opened in your Sharing.

Update the base settings, your Airport base should restart and you should be done.

appletalk
Jan 29, 2005, 03:28 PM
Thank you very much