PDA

View Full Version : MBA AC Power Cord




CollegeDude13
Jan 10, 2011, 04:56 AM
Hi mac people,
I'm a new mac user and new here (well, it's all because I just got a MBA from my uncle last week).
Everything is great so far but I have a little problem with the AC power cord.

It seems like my uncle bought the MBA in the UK, and the AC power cord is a 3-pin plug which I assume it is what people use in the UK.

(Like this one)
http://www.adrs.ltd.uk/extras/plug.jpg


Does the Apple stores exchange of this AC power cord (3-pin UK plug) for a cord with the normal plug which we use in the US?



leowyatt
Jan 10, 2011, 05:00 AM
It's worth a shot though worst case he'll just have to buy one. I shouldn't imagine they'll be expensive.

Cerano
Jan 10, 2011, 05:16 AM
It's worth a shot though worst case he'll just have to buy one. I shouldn't imagine they'll be expensive.

you could just use an adaptor.

leowyatt
Jan 10, 2011, 05:21 AM
you could just use an adaptor.

Can he not wire a US plug onto the cable?

miles01110
Jan 10, 2011, 05:25 AM
Can he not wire a US plug onto the cable?

What does this even mean?

Plug adapters are approximately $3 or your country's equivalent at any electronics store.

leowyatt
Jan 10, 2011, 05:33 AM
What does this even mean?

Unscrew the UK plug, screw on an US plug? :confused:

miles01110
Jan 10, 2011, 05:38 AM
Unscrew the UK plug, screw on an US plug? :confused:

Apple plugs don't "unscrew."

Are plugs that detach from the cord so you can wire on a new one common in the UK? I can think of several major safety (and therefore liability) issues with that practice, but then again I don't understand some European laws.

leowyatt
Jan 10, 2011, 05:43 AM
Apple plugs don't "unscrew."

The plug the OP posted can certainly be unscrewed

Are plugs that detach from the cord so you can wire on a new one common in the UK? I can think of several major safety (and therefore liability) issues with that practice, but then again I don't understand some European laws.

I haven't looked at the plug that came with my air but some appliance plugs are usually made of molded plastic so they can't be removed but the fuse can be changed as is required.

Generally if people swap the plugs and burn their house down it's their fault for doing it wrong. Generally though most plugs can't be changed anymore.

miles01110
Jan 10, 2011, 05:49 AM
The plug the OP posted can certainly be unscrewed

It's not an Apple plug.

PLin
Jan 11, 2011, 12:22 AM
Does the Apple stores exchange of this AC power cord (3-pin UK plug) for a cord with the normal plug which we use in the US?

Not that I'm aware of, but I'm actually looking for a UK power cord, because I'm heading out of the country in a few weeks. I have an extra US power cord that I'd be happy to exchange with you.

tmoerel
Jan 11, 2011, 03:50 AM
Just get a cheap cable with a flat plug on the end. They fit in the apple power supply and are dirt cheap. Any electrical/electronics store should have one for you. It'll save you a lot of money.