Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

irmongoose

macrumors 68030
Original poster
What is this crap? This sw folder suddenly showed up on my Mac HD after I upgraded to Jaguar, and it has like bin, lib, and src folders in there so I'm scared that if I'll delete it it might mess up the system... anyone know what it is? Also, I moved it to some other location, and when I started up the Terminal, it said /sw: no such file. So it looks like even the Terminal has something to do with it...

:confused:

irmongoose

Attachments

• sw.jpg
    sw.jpg
    4 KB · Views: 2,142

monkeydo_jb

macrumors 6502
Apr 17, 2002
Columbia, MO
I'm no mac expert, but I do love Linux. Is it possible that the folder you are seeing is your swap, and moving it is not possible without creating a symbolic link? Is there a setting in OS X to show hidden files and folders like in Windows or are you logged in as root? Any more background you can give us?

-jeff

FatTony

macrumors regular
Jul 17, 2002
fink?

I think fink creates a sw folder on your HD. Have you installed fink?

FattyMembrane

macrumors 6502a
Apr 14, 2002
bat country
fink will create a /sw folder once you install it, but deleting it will only mess up fink (not your system). i would recomend desinstaller for removing unwanted packages (like fink). Did you do an archive install when you upgraded to jaguar? i have'nt upgraded yet, but i believe that when you archive, it saves all of the stuff from your previous system (bin,etc,lib and all) in case you need any of it back. if this is the case, and you have not installed any crucial third party command line apps/xwindows/etcetera, you can trash the folder. mac os x does not need a /sw folder so your system itself will not mess up if you trash it.

Nipsy

macrumors 65816
Jan 19, 2002
If you use fink (or plan to) or any of the MANY tools available via fink, why not just use X-Ray to make the /sw folder invisible?