PDA

View Full Version : PowerMac G5 2ghz DP Maximum Memory Upgrade?




RedElectro
Jan 11, 2011, 06:01 PM
Hi...
What's the maximum ram upgrade I can put in my PowerMac? Apple states it's 4gb, but I've heard that this is a conservative estimate and you might actually be able to put more in?

Is this true or just a rumor? Would it be possible say, to up the memory to 8gb with 2gb sticks x4?

Thanks in advance :)



MagicBoy
Jan 11, 2011, 06:10 PM
What's the model identifier in System Profiler?

RedElectro
Jan 12, 2011, 11:10 AM
Model Name: Power Mac G5
Model Identifier: PowerMac7,3
Processor Name: PowerPC G5 (3.0)
Processor Speed: 2 GHz
Number Of CPUs: 2
L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
Memory: 2 GB
Bus Speed: 1 GHz
Boot ROM Version: 5.2.4f1

Is this enough info? Cheers :)

Rodus
Jan 12, 2011, 12:14 PM
Everymac says it'll take 8GB but you must install it in pairs.

RedElectro
Jan 12, 2011, 01:26 PM
Thanks for that, I didn't know about the Everymac website! There are two models of the G5 2.0 DP though and looking at these stats, it seems as though it's just the PCI-X version that supports 8gb of ram. Mine (unfortunately) seems to be the standard PCI version, which would appear to limit upgrades to 4gb.

pci1432,7728:

Type: Other Network Controller
Driver Installed: Yes
Bus: PCI
Slot: SLOT-2
Vendor ID: 0x1814
Device ID: 0x0601
Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x1432
Subsystem ID: 0x7728
Revision ID: 0x0000

Still, I should imagine just upgrading to 4gb is going to make a difference?

Rodus
Jan 12, 2011, 02:58 PM
Yeah you're right, sorry, I looked at the PCI-X, 2GB to 4 is still a big jump though, remember that most Macs today ship with 4 and it is enough for most users.

OrangeSVTguy
Jan 12, 2011, 04:57 PM
Apple is right, 4gb is the max for your model. You only have 4 memory slots so 4x 1gb modules. There are 8 slot models that will take 8gb total. You need DDR memory.

The late '05 G5s used DDR2 and can take 16gb total with 2gb 8x dimms.

RedElectro
Jan 13, 2011, 11:22 AM
Ok, Thanks for that guys. 4gb will possibly do me fine anyway!

Somewhere along the line I got the impression that even though the (official) max memory was 4gb, you could (unofficially) use 2gb sticks in the four slots to get to 8gb!! I guess it was just an unfounded rumour, so I'll just have to be happy with 4gb until I've got enough for my Mac Pro! ;)