PDA

View Full Version : Civilisation IV on the MBA 11" Ultimate?




Sveno
Jan 15, 2011, 07:48 AM
Hello,

Now, that Civilisation IV has arrived in the Mac App Store, I'm just wondering if it runs on the MBA 11" Ultimate. Any experiences?

Greetings,
Sven



miles01110
Jan 15, 2011, 07:53 AM
Considering it's a 5-year old game it should run fine. As with any Civilization game, once your civ gets really big it's going to lag on any machine.

KnightWRX
Jan 15, 2011, 08:48 AM
Advice : buy from Steam, it's cheaper. Wait for sales, I got the complete collection (base game + 2 expansions + Colonization for both Windows/Mac, installable on more than 5 computers) for 6.24$ USD over the holidays. Sure beats the 29.99$ price for just Colonization on the Mac App Store.

It runs like a charm on my 13", even at 2048x1156 (my external monitor's native res).

St. G
Jan 15, 2011, 10:01 AM
I can run both Civ IV and Civ V on the MBA 1.4Ghz/4GB. Haven't tried them on the OSX partition, but in Windows 7, they both work fine.

klover
Jan 15, 2011, 10:08 AM
I can run both Civ IV and Civ V on the MBA 1.4Ghz/4GB. Haven't tried them on the OSX partition, but in Windows 7, they both work fine.

Question for you. How long did you play Civ 5. Lower-end computers can handle it but as soon as you hit 100 turns the CPU lag gets worse and worse.

AMDGAMER
Jan 15, 2011, 10:09 AM
What about call of duty 4? Would the 13" actually run that game and run multiplayer? its also on the app store.

St. G
Jan 15, 2011, 10:11 AM
I'm gonna be posting some videos tomorrow. You can see for yourself.

Question for you. How long did you play Civ 5. Lower-end computers can handle it but as soon as you hit 100 turns the CPU lag gets worse and worse.