PDA

View Full Version : What games do you want demo'd on the Air?




St. G
Jan 15, 2011, 10:21 AM
There are a lot of questions about will this or that game run on the Air.

As I a) have an Air b) am a gamer and c) am a videographer, I'm in a postition to do the testing and post the resulting video for others to see.

So help me start a list of games that people are curious about.



henrikrox
Jan 15, 2011, 10:37 AM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; nb-no) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

Starcraft 2 medium and low settings native res.
Counter strike source
Left for dead
Wow (make a trail)

Now I don't expect you to showcase all of this but some would been great. Debating I I want a new mbp or MBA.

impulse462
Jan 15, 2011, 10:56 AM
Call of Duty 4 is one im pretty interested in

I also don't expect you to make videos, but some benchmarks would be nice :)

St. G
Jan 15, 2011, 11:14 AM
Someone already did that one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IFXwJQE-xqE

I'm not sure where my CoD4 disc has gotten off to, in any case.

Call of Duty 4 is one im pretty interested in

I also don't expect you to make videos, but some benchmarks would be nice :)

AMDGAMER
Jan 15, 2011, 11:22 AM
XBOX is 199 and done...all games work, xbox LIVE, etc, serious games are better off left on consoles or gaming PCs, but I agree its interested to see if the macs can actually run that game.

St. G
Jan 15, 2011, 11:25 AM
Cool story bro.

XBOX is 199 and done...all games work, xbox LIVE, etc, serious games are better off left on consoles or gaming PCs, but I agree its interested to see if the macs can actually run that game.

2IS
Jan 15, 2011, 12:25 PM
XBOX is 199 and done...all games work, xbox LIVE, etc, serious games are better off left on consoles or gaming PCs, but I agree its interested to see if the macs can actually run that game.

I don't think anyone is suggesting the MBA be a dedicated gaming machine, however it would be nice to know what it's capable of for those occasions that you're out of town, in a hotel room and want to play a quick game. I'm mainly a PC gamer myself and have about dozens of games through Steam but have found the MBA to be adequate enough for games like CSS or even TF2. It's certainly never going to replace my desktop for games, but I can't exactly take my desktop with me everywhere I go.

major7
Jan 15, 2011, 01:01 PM
what settings do you use for CSS? thx

Bierkameel
Jan 15, 2011, 01:57 PM
Counterstrike Source runs fine on my ultimate 11", I would also like to play Battlefield 2.

lewdvig
Jan 15, 2011, 02:44 PM
Mass Effect 2 (Mac port (http://forum.portingteam.com/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=4587) and Windows)
Fallout New Vegas

St. G
Jan 15, 2011, 06:50 PM
Exporting Borderlands and Civ 5 demos now. My fiancee and I tried to go to the roller derby, but it was too crowded to see anything, so my Saturday night is suddenly free. SHould have them uploaded in a couple of hours. It takes a while for CS5 to chew through HD footage on the Q6600/GeForce 8800GTS I've got in this machine.

Icebreaker117
Jan 16, 2011, 05:40 PM
Can you post some videos of multiplayer on games like Team Fortress 2 and maybe the COD4/MW2 or blackops. I have seen lots of videos of single player games, but not of multiplayer. I have used an Air at my work (1.4ghz, 2gb) and played Team Fortress 2 in OSX. I had about 25FPS when spawning and low action, when there was a lot going on it dropped to an average of 10 to 15 FPS and was rendered unplayable. i want to know how much difference the 4GB makes against the gameplay. Any info would be great please.

rubberwheels
Jan 16, 2011, 05:52 PM
Is 2GB ram enough for most games? like the newer games coming this year. Like Rift, GW2, Diablo 3, etc...

DeusEx
Jan 16, 2011, 05:53 PM
Dragon Age
Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion


-thanks!

ZenoVT
Jan 16, 2011, 07:00 PM
I want to know if the Air can run Crysis. I'm want to get Crysis 2, so the most comparable benchmark would be running the Crysis. Wouldn't mind running everything on low.

size100
Jan 16, 2011, 09:07 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; nb-no) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

Starcraft 2 medium and low settings native res.
Counter strike source
Left for dead
Wow (make a trail)

Now I don't expect you to showcase all of this but some would been great. Debating I I want a new mbp or MBA.

im running starcraft2 in osx. It struggles when things happen. I'll do more testing later. I'm running lots of low and medium shaders because from low to medium shaders is a huge graphic update.

I'm not sure if its worth it to install it on windows 7. I'd like some comparison benchmarks before I use the bandwidth to d/l the client.

If ya post a replay i'll tell you if it can play at certain settings.

2IS
Jan 16, 2011, 10:58 PM
Is 2GB ram enough for most games? like the newer games coming this year. Like Rift, GW2, Diablo 3, etc...

I don't think most current games would run too well on 2GB of ram personally.

size100
Jan 16, 2011, 11:45 PM
I don't think most current games would run too well on 2GB of ram personally.

Quite a few do. Starcraft uses like 1.1gb though so it gets iffy. Fallout3 and Fallout NV def good enough with 2gb.

zoogme
Jan 17, 2011, 02:53 AM
im using new 13"MBA 1.86 2GB and plays COD4 flawlessly. @1440X900 AA off

zoogme

Icebreaker117
Jan 19, 2011, 09:00 AM
@ ST G,

After watching all of your video's I have been messing around with our display model 1.4ghz 11inch Air with 2gb RAM at my work and thought i would try a version of Modern Warfare 2 in bootcamp. I turned AA and sync every frame OFF, soften smoke edges OFF and bullet impacts OFF, textures on automatic and everything else turned on, then jumped into a multiplayer game. I was getting no lower than 35 FPS, often an average of 45FPS. And it was really smooth, no lag.
Just thought i would let you know as i was quite suprised with the outcome, especially with only 2GB RAM. If you have a copy of MW2, give it a try on both single player and multiplayer and see if you get the same result, i would be interested to know your opinion!

Cerano
Jan 19, 2011, 09:10 AM
Can you post some videos of multiplayer on games like Team Fortress 2 and maybe the COD4/MW2 or blackops. I have seen lots of videos of single player games, but not of multiplayer. I have used an Air at my work (1.4ghz, 2gb) and played Team Fortress 2 in OSX. I had about 25FPS when spawning and low action, when there was a lot going on it dropped to an average of 10 to 15 FPS and was rendered unplayable. i want to know how much difference the 4GB makes against the gameplay. Any info would be great please.

hmm im running TF2 on the 11" ultimate and it runs smoothly all the time with most of the settings on high

Gatteau
Jan 21, 2011, 10:29 AM
World of Warcraft. If it hasn't been done already.

Thank you.

DeusEx
Jan 22, 2011, 06:42 AM
world of warcraft. If it hasn't been done already.

Thank you.

+1

zoup
Jan 22, 2011, 07:36 AM
World of Warcraft. If it hasn't been done already.

Thank you.

Check youtube.

MacsAreBetter\
Jan 22, 2011, 08:34 AM
PLEASE DO;

Black Ops
Team Fortress 2
Left 4 Dead 2
GTA IV


Maybe; Sniper Ghost Warrior

If you would like to, I can lend you my Steam account for the review process.

YOU'RE A LEGEND DUDE!

St. G
Jan 22, 2011, 09:17 AM
I'm not sure what I'm allowed to say about these videos, since talking about them got me banned...

Thanks for the feedback, guys. I'm going to try to record a Q&A addressing your questions, as well as those from other places (though THIS forum was really the reason I started making them).

Until then, I guess keep an eye on my channel, since I'm not allowed to alert you to new uploads.

Oh, and Macsarebetter, I may take you up on that offer. I'd be very curious how Codblops runs on this hardware. And maybe GTAIV, since I remember that one being very CPU dependent. I've actually got a TF2 video waiting to be uploaded and someone else has a L4D2 video on YouTUbe, so you may want to check that one out.

MacsAreBetter\
Jan 22, 2011, 10:18 AM
Okay Mr. G, if you don't mind downloading Bops. for 8GBS, PM me.

I was wondering though; is 2GB RAM enough for gaming? Or should I upgrade to 4gb? Also processor speed; what would you recommend as the best combination.

I play mostly Valve games, really wanna play GTA IV and Bops. and anything that's coming out 2011; like Hitman 5, GTA V, New COD.

DudeMartin
Jan 22, 2011, 01:28 PM
Okay Mr. G, if you don't mind downloading Bops. for 8GBS, PM me.

I was wondering though; is 2GB RAM enough for gaming? Or should I upgrade to 4gb? Also processor speed; what would you recommend as the best combination.

I play mostly Valve games, really wanna play GTA IV and Bops. and anything that's coming out 2011; like Hitman 5, GTA V, New COD.

Highly recommend 4GB.

St. G
Jan 22, 2011, 04:52 PM
That's certainly one of the questions that will be in the Q&A ep, but I'll give you my answer now, and it's likely the only honest answer you'll hear to that question on the internet: I don't really know.

The simple fact is that I haven't tested a 2GB model, so I don't know what differences there may be. I could hypothesize, but honestly that would make me no better than the legion of fools on boards like these who say things like "the Macbook Air isn't a gaming machine" or "yeah, but it won't run MODERN games" or "The specs for Game X clearly state that you need a 1.8Ghz cpu to play, so the MBA will never play THAT."

Those people haven't run the tests. I have.

I have yet to find a single game that won't run on this machine well enough to be a perfectly satisfactory mobile gaming platform. I'm sure I'll find some that do, eventually, but until then, we really don't know what the limits are.

FCDP
Jan 22, 2011, 05:31 PM
Just chiming in here. I've managed to get Bad Company 2 and Medal of Honor running on a 1.6Ghz, 4GB RAM, 11" MBA. Both run quite playable in online multiplayer. It's actually quite shocking considering how small and powerful this little guy is.

Maven1975
Jan 24, 2011, 12:13 AM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

Install nVidia tools and set your video clocks to 575/1300. It will add a significant improvement to your FPS. Windows 7 64. (Default clocks are 450/900)

If your worried about drive space, install Windows 7 on a 20gb partition and use macdrive to share you space from your OSX partition. This way, if your working in OSX and need drive space for real work, you can just delete the game from the drive/folder to get your space back. This will not work with steam. If you use steam, you will be forced to make your windows partition larger. (Totaly sucks)

Modern Warfare 2 no shaders, or vsync 2x AA everything else high at native resolution is flawless.

Hell, I even have Street Fighter IV running high models, high backgrounds with INK at 1280x720 @ 60fps. This game is known for being a pig.

Forget black ops. C2D just does not have the guts for it. Also, that engine is not as effecient as MW2's.

Call of Duty WAW is works as well. I only play zombie mode, but I have a config file that makes the game run real nice on the Air.

This is on a 11" 1.6 4GB Air

Icebreaker117
Jan 24, 2011, 03:36 AM
@ St. G
Thanks for the TF2 upload. Really interesting find with the shadow effects, thats the one thing i hadnt turned down when testing on the 2GB version, i will change the settings so they are the same as your running and let everyone know how the 2gb version holds up.
Keep up the great work!

champ01
Jan 24, 2011, 05:05 PM
MB Air 11 inch, 1,4Ghz 4GB RAM 128GB SSD

Games so far under Bootcamp and Windows7: (all games are original)

- Mass Effect 2
Full screen, everything on max worked good enough. :)

- GTA 4
Full screen, everything on medium not so perfect :(
I need to do an update first (1.0.7.0 or something) and maybe than the game will run smooth.

Icebreaker117
Jan 31, 2011, 03:20 AM
I gave Just Cause 2 (full game) a whirl on the 2gb version, same settings as the video you posted, got the same FPS, average of 25-30. It looked really good and rarely slowed down.
Going one step further, i tried Black ops with settings turned on lowest, the intro rendering was good, about 30 FPS, but as soon as the guns started firing it dropped to 10-15 FPS and was unplayable. Does anyone have black ops they could try on a 4GB model?
Both where played under bootcamp running windows 7.

sebbo90
Feb 15, 2011, 06:43 AM
I gave Just Cause 2 (full game) a whirl on the 2gb version, same settings as the video you posted, got the same FPS, average of 25-30. It looked really good and rarely slowed down.
Going one step further, i tried Black ops with settings turned on lowest, the intro rendering was good, about 30 FPS, but as soon as the guns started firing it dropped to 10-15 FPS and was unplayable. Does anyone have black ops they could try on a 4GB model?
Both where played under bootcamp running windows 7.

What config do you have? Has anyone tried balckops or battlefield bad company 2 on the 1.6 macbook air 11?

aniketroxx
Feb 15, 2011, 06:58 AM
I want to know if the Air can run Crysis. I'm want to get Crysis 2, so the most comparable benchmark would be running the Crysis. Wouldn't mind running everything on low.

MBA is not gaming machine , even my 9500GT PC won't run crysis nicely . :D

ZentraediElite
Feb 15, 2011, 01:45 PM
I've read through this thread twice, but I still don't see any links to your YouTube videos. Am I blind?

Icebreaker117
Feb 16, 2011, 03:22 AM
Search for 'Macbook Air Gaming, Episode 2: Borderlands' on youtube. it is posted under the user MediaSpecDesign. Enjoy!

Ohh and my config was a base Macbook Air 11 inch 1.4GHZ, 2GB RAM, 128GB, running OSX, the games i have tried have been running under windows 7 ultimate.

MacRumorUser
Feb 16, 2011, 05:29 AM
I want to know if the Air can run Crysis. I'm want to get Crysis 2, so the most comparable benchmark would be running the Crysis. Wouldn't mind running everything on low.

MBA is not gaming machine , even my 9500GT PC won't run crysis nicely . :D

Actually there isa great youtube video of crysis running on the 11.6" air

Surprisingly it looks great

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m-bqbFRsgcI


I'd like to see the sandy bridge's HD3000 do better ;)

St. G
Feb 16, 2011, 07:24 AM
This thread was actually started before I began making the videos. The links were originally posted in other threads, but posting said links was deemed a violation of the TOS of this forum and I was banned as a result.

So yeah, I can't post the links. Sorry.

I've read through this thread twice, but I still don't see any links to your YouTube videos. Am I blind?

MacRumorUser
Feb 16, 2011, 07:46 AM
This thread was actually started before I began making the videos. The links were originally posted in other threads, but posting said links was deemed a violation of the TOS of this forum and I was banned as a result.

So yeah, I can't post the links. Sorry.

Geez that seems harsh :confused: :confused:

St. G
Feb 16, 2011, 09:16 AM
Apparently, posting links to videos on a site that I don't administer, makes me no money, and answer a frequently asked question (ie, "Can the MBA play games?) is a violation of the "self-promotion" rule.

Yes, I think it's absurd, but if the mods here would prefer a constant stream of guesses and outright misinformation over actual testing of hypotheses, I am in no position to argue.


QUOTE=MacRumorUser;11922544]Geez that seems harsh :confused: :confused:[/QUOTE]

St. G
Feb 16, 2011, 12:54 PM
Statements like this are why I started making the videos (which I need to get back to, and will, this weekend).

WTF does "not [a] gaming machine" mean when it sucessfully runs game after game after game?

MBA is not gaming machine , even my 9500GT PC won't run crysis nicely . :D

GT-R
Feb 25, 2011, 04:41 PM
i cant get borderlands to run smoothly on my 11.6 4gb ram air, anybody have any recommended settings?

i turned everything low and even at lowest resolution it stutters when i look around in the game

TheSandman2236
Feb 27, 2011, 12:47 PM
Has anyone tried black ops yet?

Psilocybin
Feb 27, 2011, 12:54 PM
Has anyone tried black ops yet?

Check here
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1036295

ryanrhod
Feb 27, 2011, 01:47 PM
Someone earlier asked about Fallout New Vegas. It's the only game I've bothered installing on my 11 inch mba but I can report that it runs pretty well at native resolution and everything set to low. I didn't check the fps at the time, but I would guess they were in the mid 20's worst case, and much higher than that best case. I actually haven't experimented much with bumping the settings up, planning to do that at some point, but I was just impressed that it would be playable. Also to note, I originally had the 2GB version of the macbook air, and it ran this game just fine. I've since returned it and bought the 4GB version for other reasons (including virtualization).

I actually got the mba coming from the Alienware m11x R1 and was a little bummed about giving up some mobile gaming capability. I actually installed New Vegas as sort of a joke, expecting it to not work at all, and was VERY pleasantly surprised. I have my core i7 desktop and xbox 360 to do my real gaming, but it is still awesome that this really portable machine can do a little too.

St. G
Feb 28, 2011, 08:09 AM
I recorded three new looks yesterday -- Dead Space, Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light, and Dragon Age II (Demo). The first of them is up, the second is exporting and the third will be edited....sometime later...maybe today.

St. G
Feb 28, 2011, 03:00 PM
Just edited DA2. Exporting now. Keep an eye out for it over you-know-where.

impulse462
Feb 28, 2011, 05:08 PM
Have all your tests been under windows 7 or OS X?

I'm curious to know how well CoD4 runs on OS X as it would be much easier to run from within OS x. (not asking you to test was just a comment ;))

Hands Sandon
Feb 28, 2011, 05:24 PM
Have all your tests been under windows 7 or OS X?

I'm curious to know how well CoD4 runs on OS X as it would be much easier to run from within OS x. (not asking you to test was just a comment ;))

I downloaded it from the app store and it played great at native resolution with plenty of detail etc on base 13. You can listen to podcasts whilst playing!

impulse462
Feb 28, 2011, 06:51 PM
I downloaded it from the app store and it played great at native resolution with plenty of detail etc on base 13. You can listen to podcasts whilst playing!

Really? Nice! I'm assuming my frames might dip just a little compared to yours since I do have the 1.4ghz C2D.

I'm perfectly fine with medium details if its smooth the majority of the time. Thanks though I really appreciate the input.

Aznguru
Mar 2, 2011, 02:03 PM
Can you please try

"League of Legends"

On the window 7 bootcamp

I tried it on Parallel with windows XP and it struggled so hard with frame rates at 10 - 5.

I wanted to see whether its because i'm using windows XP + Parallel or that my Macbook 11 ultimate just can't handle it.

DKfraDK
Mar 2, 2011, 02:52 PM
I have the 13" 1.86 gHz, 128gb SSD and 4gb ram (don't know if it matters).

I can play League of Legends at 1440x900 with a mix of medium to high settings.

At first the game runs at 60 fps, but later in a game it runs at about 30-50 fps.

Very playable :)

- Forgot to mention that this is in bootcamp Windows 7 32-bit.

kitzuki
Mar 2, 2011, 09:46 PM
im sorry im must be a nub or something but i dont see a channel or videos can someone pm st. g's channel

Vinda-lou
Mar 27, 2011, 02:04 PM
I've got the MBA 11" ultimate. I asked this question in the Starcraft II thread, but I'd feel better posting here too. I always get nervous when the fans run while playing a newer game like Amnesia. I end up only playing for ten minutes at a time.

I'm really interested in picking up Borderlands for my MBA, but I'm hesitant to buy it due to fears of the fans running too much / too long.

Question is: How long do you guys play these more intensive games at a time? How long do you let the fan run with a game like Borderlands? I know the system would shut down before it melts down (:)), but I'd feel a lot better knowing how long you play these games at a time and how comfortable you feel with the fan running higher and for longer periods of time. Thanks.

fatlardo
Mar 27, 2011, 05:11 PM
Has anyone played HON on the 11 1.4 air? I have on the Mac, but have dual boot setup with windows. I dl on the Mac side. Anyone know if there r any benefits on windows or snow leopard?

buckers
Apr 2, 2011, 04:14 PM
I have a 13" high end MacBook Air. Does anybody know how Bad Company 2 would run under Boot Camp? :)

secksthoi
Apr 8, 2011, 10:09 PM
Are you guys all gaming on OSX? Windows? I am running OSX 10.6.6 with portal on high settings and the game runs pretty good but the mouse look is all choppy graphically. The settings don't change anything..