PDA

View Full Version : 2 Q's: How to disable update on ATV2 and why can't I control audio w/ the remote?




marklight
Jan 15, 2011, 01:33 PM
Will the ATV2 auto-update or can I should I prevent it from auto updating- I used Seasonpass to jailbreak my device.

Also, why doesn't the remote allow me to control volume? I'm using the Plex plugin and the netflix plugin a lot and not being able to control the volume is very frustrating.



newagemac
Jan 15, 2011, 01:57 PM
Will the ATV2 auto-update or can I should I prevent it from auto updating- I used Seasonpass to jailbreak my device.

Also, why doesn't the remote allow me to control volume? I'm using the Plex plugin and the netflix plugin a lot and not being able to control the volume is very frustrating.

Get a universal remote and problem solved. I use a Harmony One and it's like media center heaven. Controls my TV, Receiver, PS3, and ATV2. I have the volume keys mapped to the receiver. Works great!

The Apple TV also works with any remote. It doesn't have to be a universal. It can actually learn from a standard TV remote. So you can set it to work with certain button that aren't being used and/or you can put it on an unused AUX or something.

akula169
Jan 22, 2011, 05:54 PM
Will the ATV2 auto-update or can I should I prevent it from auto updating- I used Seasonpass to jailbreak my device.


Install nitoTV - it adds a settings section that allows you to disable automatic updates.

krypton
Mar 20, 2011, 05:18 PM
Install nitoTV - it adds a settings section that allows you to disable automatic updates.

I went to that section and set the setting to apple updates - disabled. However, it did nothing and I still get the annoying apple asking me to update now or later. This is so infuriating. Does anyone have a solution. I'm running apple 2g 4.2.1 with XBMC.
:(

milbournosphere
Oct 19, 2011, 05:30 PM
The NitoTV update toggle didn't work for me either. To the hosts file!

In a terminal window on your mac:

ssh root@appleTV.ip.address.here
apt-get install nano
nano /etc/hosts

Copy in the three lines below to the bottom of the file:

127.0.0.1 appldnld.apple.com
127.0.0.1 mesu.apple.com
127.0.0.1 appldnld.apple.com.edgesuite.net

Save the changes(ctrl-x), reboot the ATV and you should be good to go. :cool:

spacepower7
Oct 19, 2011, 11:59 PM
You can't control the volume bc the AppleTV sends out a digital signal so there is not any circuitry to adjust the volume. Same thing happens with the airport express if you use the digital connection rather than analog. If using digital on the express the volume bar in iTunes is greyed out, if using analog, the iTunes volume is selectable.

This has been the traditional way digital stereo and home theater components have worked since the 1990s. They assume that the audio is going into a receiver or a HDTV that will ultimately control the volume.

CD players, DVD digital outs, DAT, and maybe even minidisc? Didn't allow volume changes in the digital signal.

I don't agree with the implementation but they probably kept it consistent for simplicity sake.

Forgoing being able to use to one simple remote ;)