PDA

View Full Version : Format Compatible with All Apple Products




Mr. Incredible
Jan 17, 2011, 12:38 AM
So, I ripped some Blu-Ray movies at 1280x720p. I think at least 1 or 2 of the movies when it was at 1280, it was multiplied by a lower figure than 720. So, I increased the 1280 count to around 1300-1380, so that it could be multiplied by 720p. (By the way, the whole 1280 thing is set by the instructions set by CaveMan for ripping Blu-Rays)

Anyway, I tried syncing some of these movies to my iPhone (1st gen), but it wouldn't work, because it said that my software isn't up to date (or something like that)

I know that when I rip a Blu-Ray on Handbrake, i click on the AppleTV preset, but when I click on 24 frames per minute, and so on, it goes from AppleTV to Custom.

What I would like to know, is what presets/format should I put for Handbrake, so my Blu-Ray movies can be played on my AppleTV, iPad, and iPhone.

Obviously it plays on my iMac in iTunes, but I want to be able to watch these movies on the other 3 products that I mentioned. Does anybody know what settings to use?



Dalton63841
Jan 17, 2011, 12:39 AM
High Profile would probably suit you just fine.

kuwisdelu
Jan 17, 2011, 01:53 AM
The problem is the 1st gen iPhone. The iPhone 4 can play 720p, but the 1st gen can't handle that kind of video.

Your best bet is to keep the 720p for everything else, and re-encode what you want to put on your iPhone using the old Handbrake iPhone/iPod Touch preset.

For the old iPhone/iPod Touch preset, I get 2x-3x real-time encoding since it's such smaller resolution, even on an old 2.16 GHz C2D. Annoying, but it's old hardware.

Hmm.. if it's the original Apple TV, you may have to settle for the old Apple TV preset, which is less than 720p, for everything else, too.

NightStorm
Jan 17, 2011, 07:30 AM
So, I ripped some Blu-Ray movies at 1280x720p. I think at least 1 or 2 of the movies when it was at 1280, it was multiplied by a lower figure than 720. So, I increased the 1280 count to around 1300-1380, so that it could be multiplied by 720p. (By the way, the whole 1280 thing is set by the instructions set by CaveMan for ripping Blu-Rays)

This is not the correct thing to do. The height is lower than 720p due to the aspect ratio of the content. If you really want to get the max out of your encodes, you could use custom anamorphic and change the width/height to 1280x720p, but this will not benefit playback on the AppleTV.

Also, don't change your framerate from 29.97 (peak) (assuming AppleTV v2).

Mr. Incredible
Jan 17, 2011, 11:08 PM
Well, like I said, from the instructions I've read, it said to have it at 24 fpm.

Also, when doing the 1280x720p, I click on the "keep aspect ratio" button. So I just increase the first part (the 1280 part), until the 2nd part is 720p.

I plan on buying the iPhone 4 (or 5, whichever one is White this summer) in the next few months for Verizon. So I'm sure that the 720p setting will be fine, since you guys mentioned that my iPhone wont be able to support it, but the iPhone 4 (and up?) should be able to.

Quick question. I haven't bought the AppleTV yet, but should I wait for the next upgrade? I thought I read somewhere that it said that Apple is releasing a newer version of the AppleTV, I'm assuming that it will be able to support 1080p? So, should I re-rip all my movies to a 1080p format?

Sedulous
Jan 18, 2011, 01:16 AM
I wouldn't go through the trouble of encoding for the past (iPhone 1). Unless you are determined to use it on old gear, anything encoded for the iPhone 1 will look awful on any new devices you get and you'll end up dumping the old rip and wanting to re-encode for current and future hardware. I used to encode everything for my iPhone 1 and indeed ended up redoing everything.

Mr. Incredible
Feb 6, 2011, 09:53 PM
Screen Resolutions

iPhone 4: 960 x 640
iPad: 1024 x 768

Now, for Apple TV, it says that for iTunes HD movie rentals it can support: 1280 x 720

So, will 720p be the maximum resolution?

Will the iPhone 4 and iPad be able to support 1280 x 720p resolution movies?

Now, when ripping some of my blu-rays, some of them were not 1280 x 720. For me to be able to get 720p, it required me to up the vertical resolution.

For example:
Iron Man 2: 1696 x 720
Despicable Me: 1328 x 720

^Since it's vertical resolution is 1696 instead of 1280, will I still be able to play it on an iPad and iPhone 4?

Also, for me to do 1280 (Vertical), the Horizontal part isn't 720.

For example:
Inception: 1280 x 528

Basically, my question is this: Does it matter what the vertical resolution is, as long as the horizontal resolution is at 720(p)? And if the vertical resolution is much higher than 1280p, but the horizontal is at 720p, will the film be viewable on Apple TV, iPad, and iPhone 4?

Just curious to know if anyone else here is getting these different resolutions, but are still able to play them on their Apple tv, ipad, and iphone 4.

surfkw
Feb 7, 2011, 05:21 AM
Quick question. I haven't bought the AppleTV yet, but should I wait for the next upgrade? I thought I read somewhere that it said that Apple is releasing a newer version of the AppleTV, I'm assuming that it will be able to support 1080p? So, should I re-rip all my movies to a 1080p format?

I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for 1080p, or waste my HD space for that matter. Took apple 3-4 years to update the first time around and while they will probably (hopefully?) not wait so long again I don't think they have incentive to support 1080p until their store does.

As far as how to encode, I like to stick to the presets (in the most recent Handbrake, 0.95). 1st gen iPhone, sorry, no HD video, use universal preset. ATV2, great, use that preset, iPad, use that preset. If you change resolutions you will likely break support for whatever the preset was made for. Just look at your lowest common denominator and start from there.

BeachChair
Feb 7, 2011, 11:11 AM
Encode for the screen's horizontal resolution. Either 1280 pixels wide or 1920 pixels wide. Don't worry about vertical resolution.

Vertical resolution change from movie to movie. Some are 16:9 and most are even wider.

Your encodes in 1368x720 or whatever it was, has more pixels than what is normally implied by 720p. I can imagine it could be a problem for some iOS devices.

Just stick to the presets.

Mr. Incredible
Feb 7, 2011, 01:10 PM
Encode for the screen's horizontal resolution. Either 1280 pixels wide or 1920 pixels wide. Don't worry about vertical resolution.

Vertical resolution change from movie to movie. Some are 16:9 and most are even wider.

Your encodes in 1368x720 or whatever it was, has more pixels than what is normally implied by 720p. I can imagine it could be a problem for some iOS devices.

Just stick to the presets.

but if the horizontal resolution isn't 720p, than the quality is noticeably bad compared to when it is at 720p. The vertical resolution can't always be 1280, but as long as the horizontal resolution is at 720p, the vertical resolution is higher than 1280 (half the time), and the quality is amazing.

I really hope that it works on these apple stuff.

BeachChair
Feb 7, 2011, 04:15 PM
but if the horizontal resolution isn't 720p, than the quality is noticeably bad compared to when it is at 720p. The vertical resolution can't always be 1280, but as long as the horizontal resolution is at 720p, the vertical resolution is higher than 1280 (half the time), and the quality is amazing.

I really hope that it works on these apple stuff.

You are mixing up horizontal and vertical.

Mr. Incredible
Feb 7, 2011, 11:33 PM
You are mixing up horizontal and vertical.

lmao, i just noticed, my bad.

Ok, so the horizontal for most of my blu rays are either at 1280 or more, just for the vertical to be at 720p.

Now, will that work for Apple Tv, iPhone 4 and iPad?

So, will my 1696 x 720, and 1328 x 720 movie formats compatible with those 3?

Omne666
Feb 8, 2011, 02:52 AM
lmao, i just noticed, my bad.

Ok, so the horizontal for most of my blu rays are either at 1280 or more, just for the vertical to be at 720p.

Now, will that work for Apple Tv, iPhone 4 and iPad?

So, will my 1696 x 720, and 1328 x 720 movie formats compatible with those 3?

Probably not. You really want to max out at 1280 horizontal, letting the vertical fall where it will. A LOT of my ripped BluRays are like 1280x544. They look fantastic via the apple tv.

Just choose the apple tv 2 preset in HB, and let it work it's wonders. A lot of people tweak the settings from there, and really, for the possible problems they may get, it just isn't worth it. The people who wrote HB have done a masterful job.

Mr. Incredible
Feb 9, 2011, 01:23 AM
Probably not. You really want to max out at 1280 horizontal, letting the vertical fall where it will. A LOT of my ripped BluRays are like 1280x544. They look fantastic via the apple tv.

Just choose the apple tv 2 preset in HB, and let it work it's wonders. A lot of people tweak the settings from there, and really, for the possible problems they may get, it just isn't worth it. The people who wrote HB have done a masterful job.

But, the movies that I do have that has a 1280x544 resolution, the quality just isn't as good as something like 1328x720.

I don't have an Apple TV yet, I plan on getting one this summer. Since you already have the Apple TV. Do you have any BluRays that are in the resolution I mentioned previously, and can you tell me if it's playable on the Apple TV?

The iPads TV and Video supports 1024 x 768 pixels.
The iPhone 4 Tv and Video supports H.264 video formats (the format that Handbrake uses), up to 720p (doesn't give information on horizontal resolution)
The Apple TV supports the same as the iPhone 4.

So, the Blu-Rays that I have, will it only work on the iPhone 4 and Apple TV and not the iPad?

What if the 2nd iPad gets a resolution upgrade, but not a retina display?

Also, can you please test some blu rays with the resolutions I mentioned, and tell me if it works on Apple Tv? I would appreciate it if you can.

Omne666
Feb 9, 2011, 06:41 AM
But, the movies that I do have that has a 1280x544 resolution, the quality just isn't as good as something like 1328x720.

Also, can you please test some blu rays with the resolutions I mentioned, and tell me if it works on Apple Tv? I would appreciate it if you can.

OK...the HB Apple TV2 Preset will just about guarantee you hassle free playing on the ATV2. ( I don't take movies onto my iPad or iPhone so cant comment there)

The ATV2 will play higher resolution movies....I've accidentally run a 1080 movie through the system....the ATV2 as far as I could tell downsized it on the run. But it wasnt smooth, certainly not as smooth as the 720 ripped movies. In fact it was obvious I had problems.

Going from the wide range of statements made across these forums, whilst there is a difference between 720 and 1080 visually, you'd be hard pressed to see it, or need like a 100" LCD TV to spot it. (Guessing here because lower res movies that I watch happily at 576p on a 32" old LCD look crappy on my 52" LCD in my lounge room)

Your ripped movies will more then likely look no better then my 1280x544 rips, and may even cause some issues as the ATV2 tries to 'make' it work.

If I get the chance I'll run the test at your ripped sizing.

Ohhh.... and those rips you have at 544 vs the 720...what bit rates you using??? If people have trouble seeing the difference in 720vs1080, I cant see anyone spotting 544vs720 differences unless its in the rip itself.

Mr. Incredible
Feb 9, 2011, 11:15 PM
Ohhh.... and those rips you have at 544 vs the 720...what bit rates you using??? If people have trouble seeing the difference in 720vs1080, I cant see anyone spotting 544vs720 differences unless its in the rip itself.

I'm not sure exactly on what bit rate that I'm using, but its set to the Average bitrate? (1000 kbps?)

Now, when it comes to the difference that I'm seeing, here is an example.

I ripped Inception, (I'm about to re-rip it), and the quality that it is currently in, is 1280 x 528.

Now, when watching it on iTunes on my 21.5' iMac, the scene with the Top spinning by itself, you can noticeably see the pixels of the different shades of gray, basically, it's not blending well because of the lack of pixels.

So, I'm about to re-rip Inception, and hoping to see a difference in quality. Here are some snap shots of what I mean, you see how the colors not blending well because of the lack of pixels?

Again, hoping the quality improves once I re-rip it at a higher quality.

EDIT: The movie is going to be at 24 FPS, at a Constant Quality of 60.78% at RF: 20.

fred.bloggs
Feb 10, 2011, 01:51 AM
Now, when watching it on iTunes on my 21.5' iMac, the scene with the Top spinning by itself, you can noticeably see the pixels of the different shades of gray, basically, it's not blending well because of the lack of pixels.

I don't think it is a problem with resolution. It looks like the blending issues may be caused by the colour depth being reduced. This causes colour bands, and pixels it show up.

Mr. Incredible
Feb 10, 2011, 04:53 AM
Now, when watching it on iTunes on my 21.5' iMac, the scene with the Top spinning by itself, you can noticeably see the pixels of the different shades of gray, basically, it's not blending well because of the lack of pixels.

I don't think it is a problem with resolution. It looks like the blending issues may be caused by the colour depth being reduced. This causes colour bands, and pixels it show up.

So its not from the rip, but its from...my computer? How can I fix something like this? Will it look like that on a TV when using the appletv?

fred.bloggs
Feb 11, 2011, 06:05 AM
So its not from the rip, but its from...my computer? How can I fix something like this? Will it look like that on a TV when using the appletv?

I am not sure how it will look on a TV. The gamma curve of your TV is likely to be different to your monitor - so this may reduce the effect.

It is something that could be corrected by adjusting the compression settings. One of the ways to reduce the size of video is to reduce the colour depth. This is why many Div X rips show colour banding, where in the origninal video it was a smooth transition.

I am only just getting to grips with handbrake, so I cannot advise what settings you need to change. It may be as simple as increasing the bit rate. If I find a solution I'll post it.

rkuo
Feb 11, 2011, 11:42 AM
but, the movies that i do have that has a 1280x544 resolution, the quality just isn't as good as something like 1328x720.

ur doin it rong
:d

Mr. Incredible
Feb 11, 2011, 02:52 PM
ur doin it rong
:d

How? What's the right way of doing it than?

When I read the instructions on CaveMans post, it says to go to Picture Settings, and click Anamorphic to None, keep the aspect ratio checked, and to increase the width to 1280p (and the height normally falls under 720p).

But whenever I do increase the width to 1280p, the height is under 720p, and the image doesn't look good.

So instead of increasing the width, I'm increasing the height to 720p, and wherever the width lands, then that's the size of my movie.

I've noticed that Christopher Nolan films are REALLY WIDE! For The Dark Knight to be at 720p, the width was 1728!! It's the exact same thing for Inception! 1728 x 720!

Oh, and as for Bit Rate, most of my blu ray movies are averaging between 160-165 kbps, The Dark knight is at 127kbps, not sure why, but the rest are relatively around the same area. Not sure how good or bad that is, but that's what I'm getting.

But when hand braking, the Average bitrate is grayed, because I have Constant Quality checked at 60.78% at a RF of 20.

rkuo
Feb 11, 2011, 10:54 PM
How? What's the right way of doing it than?

When I read the instructions on CaveMans post, it says to go to Picture Settings, and click Anamorphic to None, keep the aspect ratio checked, and to increase the width to 1280p (and the height normally falls under 720p).

But whenever I do increase the width to 1280p, the height is under 720p, and the image doesn't look good.

So instead of increasing the width, I'm increasing the height to 720p, and wherever the width lands, then that's the size of my movie.

I've noticed that Christopher Nolan films are REALLY WIDE! For The Dark Knight to be at 720p, the width was 1728!! It's the exact same thing for Inception! 1728 x 720!

Oh, and as for Bit Rate, most of my blu ray movies are averaging between 160-165 kbps, The Dark knight is at 127kbps, not sure why, but the rest are relatively around the same area. Not sure how good or bad that is, but that's what I'm getting.

But when hand braking, the Average bitrate is grayed, because I have Constant Quality checked at 60.78% at a RF of 20.
OK ... moving away from the joking for a second ... you cannot exceed 1280 in the horizontal or 720 in the vertical direction if you want to be compliant. No apple ios device supports above 720p resolution .... and 720p is just shorthand for this compliance, it does not literally mean that you can use any horizontal resolution you want as long as the vertical res is below 720 lines.

You need to encode to a compliant resolution for your devices, or you can encode to something non-compliant and deal with the compatibility issues. You can't do both.

BeachChair
Feb 12, 2011, 04:05 AM
Sorry OP, but you are either extremely dense or trolling us.

People have said the same thing to you now, worded nicely in 10 different ways and you still refuse to understand it.