Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TaKashMoney

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 15, 2005
Hey guys,

Im a 23 year old filmmaker and a huge mac user, who has been on this forum for few years now. Our film, A Fighting Chance, premiered on ESPN in november and was edited entirely on two macbooks (one white macbook and one macbook pro) and FCP. We are releasing the DVD today and just wanted to be available to answer any questions any aspiring filmmakers may have about the workflow/process/indie film market in general. One of the reasons I felt I was even able to make the film in the first place was because of the friendly and informative community here. Feel free to ask away.

-T

LethalWolfe

macrumors G3
Jan 11, 2002
Los Angeles
Congratulations on having it picked up by ESPN. I remember seeing a trailer for it a long time ago.

How did it end up on ESPN? Was that an initial target from the beginning or were they just one of the places you shopped it around to?

Lethal

mwilloam

macrumors newbie
Apr 3, 2010
That guy is amazing ... absolutely amazing. Looks like a great piece and well shot and edited. What camera did you guys shoot it on? 24p?

FroColin

macrumors regular
Jun 4, 2008
That is just awesome. You didn't need the latest Mac Pro etc. You did it on two macbooks. That's really cool. Yeah the biggest question is how did it get picked up by ESPN? How long did it take? What was it shot on? But generally how did the distribution go, same questions that Lethal asked

TaKashMoney

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 15, 2005
We started making this almost right after we graduated Undergrad. I had gotten some scholarship money and in my final semester, instead of using the money to study abroad, I chose to buy a camera. The camera I purchased was a Canon XHA1 (now discontinued I think, shoots 24p HDV). My good friend received a similar scholarship and was able to buy a MBP and Final Cut.