Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

qwimjim

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 5, 2011
I bought a 17" i5 2.53 MBP and while I love it to death, I'm spending more and more time at a desk and now with an iphone my laptop rarely leaves the house. So I'm thinking of selling it. My girlfriend currently has a 13" HP laptop that also rarely leaves the house so our choices are:

1. Sell the HP 13" & 17" MBP, buy a 27" iMac and 13" MBP. I would end up using the 13" a lot in bed at night, so I would have my hard drive on the 27" shared with it via 802.11n wifi. I've never done this before, but would be routinely accessing documents, mp3's, photo's, and downloaded tv shows. Would this work well or would it be noticeably slow and annoying? That would be a dealbreaker.

2. Sell the 17" MBP, buy a 15.4" i5 2.53 MBP and an HP ZR24W 1920x1200 IPS monitor. Pro's: All my files on the same computer, all the time. Cons: obviously 15.4" MBP not as powerful or upgradeable as 27" iMac.

If I understood correctly, Macs are not like PC's where everytime I plug in the monitor I have to go through a bunch of menu's to activate the display.. on mac's you just plug it in and the display works instantly/automatically right? No fiddling? Cost wise they'll be about the same buying on craiglist/kijiji.

Last edited:

orfeas0

macrumors 6502a
Aug 21, 2010
Athens, Greece
If I understood correctly, Macs are not like PC's where everytime I plug in the monitor I have to go through a bunch of menu's to activate the display.. on mac's you just plug it in and the display works instantly/automatically right? No fiddling? Cost wise they'll be about the same buying on craiglist/kijiji.

I use a toshiba qosmio as a laptop and whenever i plug the external monitor, 2 seconds later i have my 2nd desktop, no menus no fiddling. I don't know about macs.