PDA

View Full Version : Power Supply iMac G4 dead




iDutchman
Jan 20, 2011, 10:57 AM
Hi,

I have the opportunity to buy a 17" iMac 1.25Ghz USB 2.0 model.
With the box and all the stuff.

Now, here's the deal. I have a perfect functioning iMac G4 15" 700Mhz.
It's in pristine condition. But the hunger for power is always there.

As it is a hobby, could I get the power supply out of the the iMac G4 15" to put it in the iMac G4 17"? To make it function again?

Or is this just silly?:rolleyes:



666sheep
Jan 20, 2011, 11:24 AM
No, you can't. Logic board and LCD power connectors are completely different.

chrismacguy
Jan 20, 2011, 11:57 AM
Id buy it and then get a fully functioning iMac G4 17" PSU from eBay.

iDutchman
Jan 20, 2011, 12:44 PM
I'd might do that.

Is it hard to replace the PSU? I've already done a HD upgrade and RAM in my current one. So I'm familiar inside.

coopdog
Jan 20, 2011, 01:12 PM
It's not that hard to replace. My imac G4 power supply went out and it was somewhat easy to take out. Watch out, the capacitors could have juice in them.