PDA

View Full Version : Is there any specific monitor needed for Powermac G4?




iMacBoy
Jan 22, 2011, 02:52 PM
I have seen some bargains on ebay for the powermacs, and was just wondering if there was any kind if monitor i would need before i invest?

I have a old monitor in my house but i'm not sure what adapters etc it would need to have.

Thanks.



simsaladimbamba
Jan 22, 2011, 02:54 PM
No, but inform yourself what video output the GPU has, DVI, VGA or ADC (Apple Display Connector) before you make the purchase, as your need an adapter for ADC.
Apple and Monoprice offer them AFAIK.

el-John-o
Jan 22, 2011, 06:19 PM
Most of the PowerMacs (that I have seen anyway) have two connectors, one ADC and one VGA. Until a certain point when they switched to DVI, I'm not sure at what point that is, but the only Macs I have ever seen that where ADC only was my old Performa, and other small form factor desktops like that. Otherwise, like the above said, the adapters are readily available. Good luck!


-John

chrismacguy
Jan 22, 2011, 06:37 PM
Most of the PowerMacs (that I have seen anyway) have two connectors, one ADC and one VGA. Until a certain point when they switched to DVI, I'm not sure at what point that is, but the only Macs I have ever seen that where ADC only was my old Performa, and other small form factor desktops like that. Otherwise, like the above said, the adapters are readily available. Good luck!


-John

Your performa isnt ADC, it is a larger form of VGA called DB-15, which was phased out with the Beige G3 in 1998. From then on VGA was the standard on B&W G3s and Early G4s. ADC started shipping in 2001 and stopped shipping in 2004(possibly '05, but Im pretty sure '04) with PowerMac G5s.

A good set of rules is as follows:
PowerMac G4s below 466Mhz and 500Mhz models shipped with a card with DVI-D and VGA.
PowerMac G4s above 466Mhz excl. 500Mhz machines shipped with a card with ADC and VGA or in the very last G4s (Dual 867Mhz, 1Ghz, 1.25Ghz and Dual 1.42Ghz models), a card with DVI (normal DVI) and ADC. The only machine that doesnt quite follow this is a specialised G4 QuickSilver which could have an option for a card with 1DVI and 1 ADC.

mulo
Jan 22, 2011, 06:44 PM
my G5 has ADC and DVI

chrismacguy
Jan 22, 2011, 06:48 PM
my G5 has ADC and DVI

For G5s it really depends on the machine, as even if its before the phase-out of ADC in 2005, it depends if the machine had an upgrade. (There was even a ADC option on the Early 2005 G5, however with the Late 2005 G5 it was gone).

Nameci
Jan 22, 2011, 08:59 PM
I love ADC, takes away all the cable clutters...

el-John-o
Jan 22, 2011, 10:11 PM
Your performa isnt ADC, it is a larger form of VGA called DB-15, which was phased out with the Beige G3 in 1998. From then on VGA was the standard on B&W G3s and Early G4s. ADC started shipping in 2001 and stopped shipping in 2004(possibly '05, but Im pretty sure '04) with PowerMac G5s.

A good set of rules is as follows:
PowerMac G4s below 466Mhz and 500Mhz models shipped with a card with DVI-D and VGA.
PowerMac G4s above 466Mhz excl. 500Mhz machines shipped with a card with ADC and VGA or in the very last G4s (Dual 867Mhz, 1Ghz, 1.25Ghz and Dual 1.42Ghz models), a card with DVI (normal DVI) and ADC. The only machine that doesnt quite follow this is a specialised G4 QuickSilver which could have an option for a card with 1DVI and 1 ADC.

I stand corrected. Nevermind then, ha!