PDA

View Full Version : Functionality of the Remote app for AppleTV2




Mr-Tomahawk
Jan 22, 2011, 06:41 PM
I want to get the AppleTV2 and mount it on the back of my TV, but I wasn't sure how much functionality I can get from the Remote App on my iPhone. Will it let me navigate the interface of the AppleTV2 as if it were the IR remote? Is there something like the Boxee App where I can just mouse around click on what I want through the interface? I would really like it work this way so that I could have it hidden behind the TV and that it would be out-place-out-of-mind.



From A Buick 8
Jan 22, 2011, 06:53 PM
It will work pretty well like that, as long as you can see the screen of the tv it is hooked up too.

Hammie
Jan 22, 2011, 07:49 PM
It will actually be easier for some tasks. If you are streaming music or movies or Tv shows, then you can just go to the files you want versus the painful way of leaving one menu to go to another.

My son uses his iPos Touch to control the ATV and I use my iPad to control both the ATV 1 and ATV 2 that we have. Also use Remote to stream music to my B&W Zeppelin via AirPort Express from iTunes on my Mac Mini.

There are a couple things I would change, but over all I would give it a solid 9/10 rating.

Mr-Tomahawk
Jan 23, 2011, 08:32 AM
So you guys are saying that I can navigate from Movies, to Trailers, to Flickr, to Netflix, to XMBC with the Remote App? Just double checking because I'm currently only familiar with how the Remote App works with a computer, which is really not the experience I want for the Apple TV2

From A Buick 8
Jan 23, 2011, 08:37 AM
So you guys are saying that I can navigate from Movies, to Trailers, to Flickr, to Netflix, to XMBC with the Remote App? Just double checking because I'm currently only familiar with how the Remote App works with a computer, which is really not the experience I want for the Apple TV2

Not sure about XMBC (is your ATV JB), but the remote app will do everything the remote that came with your ATV and more.

For some of what you do with the remote app you need to be able to see the TV that the ATV is running on.

Mr-Tomahawk
Jan 23, 2011, 09:07 AM
That's my plan... although I wish there was a Boxee app, I may end up switching to the Plex App since that is available. I don't think having to see the television when using the Remote app will be an issue...that's sort of the whole point of it. I just want to see the HDMI cable or any components around my TV (I have none exposed now), and not be forced to use a IR blaster