PDA

View Full Version : Will Win 7 Install (Via Bootcamp) on SSD slow it down eventually?




Starlights
Jan 23, 2011, 10:04 AM
After doing some prelim research i figured that OSX, even though it doesnt support TRIM - does not substantially slow down the SSD - so thats great.

My question is, i am planning to install Win 7 via Bootcamp - Now how do i go about that to make sure that the TRIM command is activated - and how does that partition for installing Windows needs to be formatted for best results - NTFS ?

TIA



KPOM
Jan 23, 2011, 10:08 AM
Format it as NTFS (which is Windows 7's default). TRIM will run automatically in the background when you boot into Boot Camp. Again, it's Windows 7's default setting.

Starlights
Jan 23, 2011, 10:11 AM
Format it as NTFS (which is Windows 7's default). TRIM will run automatically in the background when you boot into Boot Camp. Again, it's Windows 7's default setting.

Great - so just a normal install via BC and dont have to tweak for TRIM? !! Thanks!

thejadedmonkey
Jan 23, 2011, 10:23 AM
Yup! Also, fyi, even though OS X doesn't support TRIM on a software level, the SSD's that Apple uses* support TRIM on a hardware level. Windows may detect that, and not use TRIM either, as it'll be done on a hardware level and not a software level.


*The current SSD's in the MacBook Air's. I'm not sure about the standard 2.5" SSD's in their other laptops.

2IS
Jan 23, 2011, 10:28 AM
Yup! Also, fyi, even though OS X doesn't support TRIM on a software level, the SSD's that Apple uses* support TRIM on a hardware level. Windows may detect that, and not use TRIM either, as it'll be done on a hardware level and not a software level.


*The current SSD's in the MacBook Air's. I'm not sure about the standard 2.5" SSD's in their other laptops.

The hardware has to support trim for the software to use it. Just about every SSD on the market today supports the TRIM function and many of the older ones that didn't, like the original X25 M from Intel have firmware upgrades that add that functionality.

DeusEx
Jan 30, 2011, 02:52 AM
Format it as NTFS (which is Windows 7's default). TRIM will run automatically in the background when you boot into Boot Camp. Again, it's Windows 7's default setting.

I installed Window 7 via Boot Camp when I got my 13" Air last month - just found out about TRIM recently - does it automatically run when Win 7 was installed? So, is TRIM actually running on my Air at the moment when I'm on Win 7?

DeusEx
Jan 30, 2011, 07:54 PM
I installed Window 7 via Boot Camp when I got my 13" Air last month - just found out about TRIM recently - does it automatically run when Win 7 was installed? So, is TRIM actually running on my Air at the moment when I'm on Win 7?

Does anyone know?

Psilocybin
Jan 30, 2011, 08:20 PM
It runs automatically

Arinoth
Jan 30, 2011, 08:51 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

It runs in the background whenever the computer is idle.

karsten
Jan 30, 2011, 09:32 PM
I installed Window 7 via Boot Camp when I got my 13" Air last month - just found out about TRIM recently - does it automatically run when Win 7 was installed? So, is TRIM actually running on my Air at the moment when I'm on Win 7?

only on your windows partition however.