PDA

View Full Version : MacBook Air 13 HeadPhone Jack Smaller Thank MacBook Pro 13?




SkyeHack
Jan 26, 2011, 02:45 PM
I have a Headphone jack to FiberOptic convertor for my MBP13 and it fits and works perfectly. However, when I use it on the MBA 13 it doesn't fit in all the way (that's what she said ;p) so that leads me to believe it's a different size. Can anyone recommend me a different headphone jack to fiberoptic audio convertor so I can use on my sound system please? Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks! :)

This is what I am trying to use:

Toslink Female to Toslink Mini Male Adapter

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10423&cs_id=1042301&p_id=2671&seq=1&format=2

http://images2.monoprice.com/productlargeimages/26711.jpg

http://images2.monoprice.com/productlargeimages/26712.jpg



iPhoneCollector
Jan 26, 2011, 02:50 PM
try to put some more pressure to it. its not unusual that the headphone jacks are a bit hard to get in place. just try to press it harder until it kind of clicks and it should be fine. they are all using the 3,5mm standard.

SkyeHack
Jan 26, 2011, 02:56 PM
try to put some more pressure to it. its not unusual that the headphone jacks are a bit hard to get in place. just try to press it harder until it kind of clicks and it should be fine. they are all using the 3,5mm standard.

It didn't work.

http://i623.photobucket.com/albums/tt315/deathwar09/bloody.jpg?1296075355

Menge
Jan 26, 2011, 03:00 PM
You OK? How the hell did you manage to draw blood from yourself?!

SkyeHack
Jan 26, 2011, 03:03 PM
You OK? How the hell did you manage to draw blood from yourself?!

I tried forcing it in. I figured I use pliers to make it easier. Boy, was I wrong. :(

zinka
Jan 26, 2011, 03:11 PM
Don't force it in! The jacks on the MBA are, indeed, not quite as deep as on other machines. You can see this with USB cables, for example -- there ends up being a slight gap between the plug housing and the machine.

tonynz
Jan 26, 2011, 03:17 PM
It didn't work.

http://i623.photobucket.com/albums/tt315/deathwar09/bloody.jpg?1296075355


LOL this has made my day

SkyeHack
Jan 26, 2011, 03:19 PM
Don't force it in! The jacks on the MBA are, indeed, not quite as deep as on other machines. You can see this with USB cables, for example -- there ends up being a slight gap between the plug housing and the machine.

I put it in as far as it goes and when I play audio it just plays through my MBA speakers instead of my audio system. :(

RLRabb
Jan 26, 2011, 03:48 PM
A toslink connector would only fit properly if the audio out supported digital audio out. Apple's tech specs page for the Air says nothing about digital audio through the audio out jack, while it does say digital audio out for the Pro.

phantax
Jan 26, 2011, 04:19 PM
A toslink connector would only fit properly if the audio out supported digital audio out. Apple's tech specs page for the Air says nothing about digital audio through the audio out jack, while it does say digital audio out for the Pro.

The audio out / headphone jack on the Air is analog only. You can get digital audio through the Mini Displayport with an HDMI adapter or by getting a USB audio interface.

RLRabb
Jan 26, 2011, 04:26 PM
The audio out / headphone jack on the Air is analog only. You can get digital audio through the Mini Displayport with an HDMI adapter or by getting a USB audio interface.

Precisely my point. The OP is trying to get digital audio out of an analog output jack, unsuccessfully of course, and trying to force the toslink connector into a jack that isn't made for it. Even if the toslink will seat properly in the jack, he's not going to get any sound through it.

phantax
Jan 26, 2011, 04:32 PM
Precisely my point. The OP is trying to get digital audio out of an analog output jack, unsuccessfully of course, and trying to force the toslink connector into a jack that isn't made for it. Even if the toslink will seat properly in the jack, he's not going to get any sound through it.

Yah sorry, meant to quote the post above yours.

OP, if you absolutely need optical audio only (not digital audio over HDMI), look into the Turtle Beach Micro II. It runs about $25 USD, has OS X drivers, and is very small and portable.

bobr1952
Jan 26, 2011, 04:38 PM
Probably not a solution for all situations but depending on how you want to use your MBA to port music--another option is via Airport Express which does have digital optical output.

iPhysicist
Jan 26, 2011, 04:55 PM
:)

iPhysicist
Jan 26, 2011, 04:58 PM
My guess is that he won't survive installing the airport express. But if he does it will work perfectly and actually it is the best way to stream music. Moreover you should visit the Rouge Amoeba's "Airfoil" Website :)

Godspeed