PDA

View Full Version : Help With NAS/Airport




bumbo
Jan 27, 2011, 06:32 AM
Hey guys

I have 2 Western Digital NAS drives attached to an Airport Extreme and shared via AFP.

The AE connects to a Powerline system and is picked up in another room by my Mac Mini.

Everything was working fine until I bought my new AE.

Now i can only see the drives on my Mac Pro (connected by ethernet to AE) and not the Mac Mini. The Mac Mini can browse the web so there's no connection problem between the AE and the mini.

Are there some settings on the AE i need to change??

Help would be greatly appreciated!



timbloom
Jan 27, 2011, 10:24 AM
Hey guys

I have 2 Western Digital NAS drives attached to an Airport Extreme and shared via AFP.

The AE connects to a Powerline system and is picked up in another room by my Mac Mini.

Everything was working fine until I bought my new AE.

Now i can only see the drives on my Mac Pro (connected by ethernet to AE) and not the Mac Mini. The Mac Mini can browse the web so there's no connection problem between the AE and the mini.

Are there some settings on the AE i need to change??

Help would be greatly appreciated!


How long ago did you swap the airport extreme out? If it's very recently you may need to release/renew the computers and NAS dhcp information, there may be a bad/old setting from the previous device causing a conflict. Restarting the machines usually forces this, but not always.

I would give that a shot and get back to us. If it doesn't work there are a few other potential fixes.

bumbo
Jan 27, 2011, 01:14 PM
Thanks for the reply - I swapped it out about a week ago.

Mac Pro, Mac Mini, both NAS drives and airport extreme have been rebooted several times.

I've renewed the DHCP lease on the mini already but to no avail.

Thanks