PDA

View Full Version : Powermac G5: videocard problem?




roelie76
Jan 28, 2011, 02:34 AM
Hi all,

About a month ago I bought a G5 1.6. It runs great and I was looking at upgrades. But then a collegue of mine gave me a broken G5 2.0. He stated that the Logic Board was broken and it could not be fixed. It has 1,5 gb of ram (ddr3200) and a Nvidea FX6800 Ultra. I hooked it up and I got the apple logo and chime and then a gray screen with popup stating that I needed to restart the mac.

So yesterday I switched the graphics card from the 2.0 to the 1.6, but then my 1.6 mac does not start anymore. I get the gray screen, stating that I have to restart my mac. Tried it a couple of times, but no luck. So now I am suspecting that the videocard is faulty. I therefore tried the FX5200 that I had put in the 2.0 to see if it would start and guess what.... it did! However the colors are pretty screwed up: the green and yellow both look yellowish and the blue is a bit faded to gray. So I tried changing the display settings, but no luck (it does get a bit better, but not as beautiful as with the fx5200 in the 1.6 G5).

Could someone tell me if I am doing something wrong or that these issues are related to the logic board of the 2.0?

Since the FX6800 is not working on the 1.6 or 2.0 one, I believe that that card is faulty, so I guess I cannot upgrade the videocard. Or could there be another reason? It does have a signal to the screen, but when I put it in either one G5's I get the gray screen......

Thanks in advance.
Patrick



666sheep
Jan 28, 2011, 04:49 AM
What OS you have on 1.6? 6800 needs at least 10.4.6 IIRC (or 10.4.4). If you have lower version, update it to 10.4.11 (use combo updater).

If card will still give bad video - it's broken.

roelie76
Jan 28, 2011, 06:38 AM
What OS you have on 1.6? 6800 needs at least 10.4.6 IIRC (or 10.4.4). If you have lower version, update it to 10.4.11 (use combo updater).

I'll check that one. I can upgrade to Leopard, since I have that disc available. I'll let you know the outcome. Thanks.

roelie76
Jan 28, 2011, 08:25 AM
I checked the current version and it is Panther (10.3). I will upgrade to 10.5 tonight.

roelie76
Feb 4, 2011, 01:08 PM
I upgraded to Leopard today. When I put the 6800 Ultra in, the screen is all greenish. You can see everything through it, but the normally purple background is now green/orange. When I put the 5200 in, everything is fine. Is the card broken, or perhaps stuck on some strange calibration issue? Can someone advise?
Thanks,
Patrick

OrangeSVTguy
Feb 5, 2011, 06:05 PM
I upgraded to Leopard today. When I put the 6800 Ultra in, the screen is all greenish. You can see everything through it, but the normally purple background is now green/orange. When I put the 5200 in, everything is fine. Is the card broken, or perhaps stuck on some strange calibration issue? Can someone advise?
Thanks,
Patrick

Are you using a DVI>VGA adapter?

roelie76
Feb 7, 2011, 04:44 AM
As a matter of fact, I do. I used the original Mac adapter that came with it to go to VGA from DVI. I could retest with a DVI screen.

roelie76
Feb 10, 2011, 03:11 AM
It now works on a monitor with DVI. All I need now is a ADC to DVI adapter to hook up my 20" Apple Cinema Display :D

OrangeSVTguy
Feb 10, 2011, 07:12 AM
It now works on a monitor with DVI. All I need now is a ADC to DVI adapter to hook up my 20" Apple Cinema Display :D

Cool that you got it worked out. Check eBay often as you can get those adapters for $50 or less. They are starting to come down in value.

VanneDC
Feb 10, 2011, 03:16 PM
adc ----> dvi adaptors? 50 bucks?? wow thats steep...

i got one with an apple x800 for 50 us..

roelie76
Feb 14, 2011, 07:19 AM
Well here in the Netherlands ADC-> DVI adapters are not that common and people are asking ridiculous prices, but I'll check out E-Bay. Thanks.