PDA

View Full Version : ATV2 and Remote and Front Row




Jefferyd32
Jan 28, 2011, 12:33 PM
I just set up my new ATV2 and it does not exactly work the way I hoped. I am sharing my itunes library from my macbook pro. My main reason for purchasing was to upgrade from my airport express setup and listen to my itunes library through my home stereo, while moving my APE to another room.
My hope was that I could search through menus on screen similar what itunes looks like on my mac, but the menus seem almost non existent, and it looks like I still have to use my mac for just about everything. Am I missing something? Is something not set up correctly, or is it really this clumsy. I almost feel forced to purchase an ipod touch so I can use remote to make this setup more user friendly.

Last question: I was under the impression that I could not use a remote with my MBP, but I have discovered that is not the case. (if I would've known this I would've bought one a long time ago) However, in my quick experimenting it seems that Front Row automatically opens, and this I don't want, I'd rather just use itunes. Is there a way to prevent this? Thanks for the help from a pretty novice user.



newagemac
Jan 28, 2011, 12:51 PM
Have you turned on home sharing so your iTunes libraries show up under "Computers" on the Apple TV yet?

Jefferyd32
Jan 28, 2011, 12:54 PM
Yes home sharing is on.