PDA

View Full Version : How to tell an iPhone's gb storage if it has no sim card?




tstirling22
Jan 28, 2011, 07:57 PM
I was recently given an iPhone 4 from a friend of mine, but it has no sim card. When i plug it into iTunes, there doesn't appear to be a way to check the storage capacity (16gb or 32gb). Is there any way that i can find out the storage capacity of this phone?



mickbab
Jan 28, 2011, 07:59 PM
If the phone is working, go Settings > General > About.
A 16GB model should show about 14GB in the capacity, and I'm guessing the 32GB would show around 30GB.

tstirling22
Jan 28, 2011, 08:07 PM
I'm sorry I must be missing something. Where is settings located?

EDIT: Never mind. The iPhone is in recovery mode. Is there any way i can check the storage capacity on my mac?

QuarterSwede
Jan 28, 2011, 08:11 PM
I'm sorry I must be missing something. Where is settings located?

EDIT: Never mind. The iPhone is in recovery mode. Is there any way i can check the storage capacity on my mac?
I don't remember if iTunes will tell you in recovery mode or not. You can try.

mickbab
Jan 28, 2011, 08:11 PM
The Settings app?

EDIT: oops, I see you are having other troubles, don't know how to help there sorry.

tstirling22
Jan 28, 2011, 08:13 PM
The Settings app?
The phone is in recovery mode. That's the whole point.

SandboxGeneral
Jan 28, 2011, 08:13 PM
Ummm.... did you turn it over and look at the back? My 3GS shows that it is a 16GB model, printed right on the backside.

QuarterSwede
Jan 28, 2011, 08:14 PM
Ummm.... did you turn it over and look at the back? My 3GS shows that it is a 16GB model, printed right on the backside.
The iPhone 4 doesn't list a capacity on the back.

tstirling22
Jan 28, 2011, 08:14 PM
Ummm.... did you turn it over and look at the back? My 3GS shows that it is a 16GB model, printed right on the backside.
This is an iPhone 4. It doesn't say on the back.

SandboxGeneral
Jan 28, 2011, 08:15 PM
The iPhone 4 doesn't list a capacity on the back.

Ahhhh, ok I didn't know that. I wonder why Apple removed that.

wordoflife
Jan 28, 2011, 08:21 PM
Ahhhh, ok I didn't know that. I wonder why Apple removed that.

So then they don't need to make the distinction between the back plates. Instead of specifically making one for each capacity, they just make one so it can fit on any iPhone 4 and if they make an 8GB iPhone 4 later, then I guess they wouldn't need to worry about the extra 16 and 32gb back plates they might have (but then again, those can go for refurbs)

Blorzoga
Jan 28, 2011, 08:37 PM
The OP sounds like a troll. Seriously, you dont know where the settings button is?

tstirling22
Jan 28, 2011, 08:51 PM
The OP sounds like a troll. Seriously, you dont know where the settings button is?
Sorry. Clearly should've put this in the thread title. But the phone is in RECOVERY MODE meaning I can't access settings

PsstGreek
Jan 28, 2011, 08:55 PM
Sorry. Clearly should've put this in the thread title. But the phone is in RECOVERY MODE meaning I can't access settings

Restore the iPhone then you'll find out what the GB capacity is. If you have the original box that will of course also tell you.

tstirling22
Jan 28, 2011, 08:57 PM
Restore the iPhone then you'll find out what the GB capacity is. If you have the original box that will of course also tell you.
I can't restore the phone because I don't have a sim card. Nor do I have the original box

QuarterSwede
Jan 28, 2011, 09:09 PM
OP, I truly feel for you. It's amazing how many people don't READ anymore. Good luck Sir!

And no, you could not have been clearer.

tstirling22
Jan 28, 2011, 09:12 PM
OP, I truly feel for you. It's amazing how many people don't READ anymore. Good luck Sir!

And no, you could not have been clearer.
Thanks for the support, QuarterSwede. I thought I was being clear too :)

eastercat
Jan 28, 2011, 09:13 PM
If this is an AT&T iphone, go to the AT&T store and tell them you need a pay as you go SIM. Put the minimum on it and have it activated. If they ask for the phone, tell them it's at home (don't be dumb and tell them it's an iphone). Cut the SIM to size and pop it in.
I can't restore the phone because I don't have a sim card. Nor do I have the original box

tstirling22
Jan 28, 2011, 09:17 PM
If this is an AT&T iphone, go to the AT&T store and tell them you need a pay as you go SIM. Put the minimum on it and have it activated. If they ask for the phone, tell them it's at home (don't be dumb and tell them it's an iphone). Cut the SIM to size and pop it in.
Hmm ok. Sounds like the only option at this point. The iPhone 4 uses a microsim though. That shouldn't be a problem though right?

number8pie
Oct 8, 2012, 03:25 AM
Get the serial number off the sim tray in the top and enter it here:
go to here https://selfsolve.apple.com/agreementWarrantyDynamic.do
That will tell you what size the iPhone is. :)

Gav2k
Oct 8, 2012, 03:28 AM
Get the serial number off the sim tray in the top and enter it here:
go to here https://selfsolve.apple.com/agreementWarrantyDynamic.do
That will tell you what size the iPhone is. :)

Relevant a year and a half ago!

TimDaddy
Oct 13, 2012, 08:49 AM
Get the serial number off the sim tray in the top and enter it here:
go to here https://selfsolve.apple.com/agreementWarrantyDynamic.do
That will tell you what size the iPhone is. :)


I just did this with mine, and it simpley tells me that it is an iPhone 4. I broke my 8gb iphone 4 earlier this year and went to the Apple Store and paid the $150 to trade out for a refurb. I now have a 5 and am planning to sell this one. According to iTunes AND the settings, this has a capacity of 13.7gb. Are there any errors that could cause it to show the wrong capacity? I was thinking itunes might have somehow been showing the specs for one of our iphones, but I can't imagine how the settings in the phone would show the wrong specs.

I came here to ask for help in making sure this is correct. I don't want to misrepresent anything on ebay. I believe I have instead convinced myself that this is correct. Good day to you. :D