PDA

View Full Version : Got me a not-working iMac G5 17"

Tyroler
Jan 31, 2011, 06:43 AM
Seems the Caps are bad. Some bend a little on there Top.
When cover removed and started comes first two Light on,but no Picture.
Found now a Company in Kent who changes Caps for 140.-
They dismantle the iMac,replace the Cabs,test them,rebuild iMac and test. Would get Computer back after 5 Working day.
but,they don't do anything other if not-working comes from another Fault.
I could order a set caps for 17.- about with free Shipping inside UK.
As i find not-working or damaged iMac's from 80.- upwards i am thinking to give them a go. 140.- isn't bad.
Got said OSX 10.6 is installed and have to buy me new Software to re-install them,in case of Failure in Future to have the Disc. Don't know if Time Machine would do it do.
well,may also upgrade Ram and Hard drive,as no space to but i second in.

i'm new with Apple,but like how the System is build up. everything from one House. But i am new to computer anywhy,so a lot i have to learn.

chrismacguy
Jan 31, 2011, 07:06 AM
Seems the Caps are bad. Some bend a little on there Top.
When cover removed and started comes first two Light on,but no Picture.
Found now a Company in Kent who changes Caps for 140.-
They dismantle the iMac,replace the Cabs,test them,rebuild iMac and test. Would get Computer back after 5 Working day.
but,they don't do anything other if not-working comes from another Fault.
I could order a set caps for 17.- about with free Shipping inside UK.
As i find not-working or damaged iMac's from 80.- upwards i am thinking to give them a go. 140.- isn't bad.
Got said OSX 10.6 is installed and have to buy me new Software to re-install them,in case of Failure in Future to have the Disc. Don't know if Time Machine would do it do.
well,may also upgrade Ram and Hard drive,as no space to but i second in.