PDA

View Full Version : MBA 11 and TripleHead2Go Digital (want dual externals but one monitor is not working)




jhaber
Jan 31, 2011, 08:57 PM
Hi hoping someone can help.

I have the maxed out MBA 11.6 and two 22" 1980x1200 dell displays.

I also have the TripleHead2Go Matrox Digital Edition.

I have a minidisplay->dual-link DVI adapter running from the mac to the input of the matrox box. Inbetween the adapter and box I have a dual link DVI cable.

From the output of the matrox I have single link dvi's on port 1 and 3 (skipping port two) to the monitors.

The OS can see 3840x1200 but when I select it only one monitor lights up and other other stays in powersaving mode.

Any ideas? this is driving me crazy

Thanks a lot.

Jonathan



phantax
Jan 31, 2011, 09:11 PM
Hi hoping someone can help.

I have the maxed out MBA 11.6 and two 22" 1980x1200 dell displays.

I also have the TripleHead2Go Matrox Digital Edition.

I have a minidisplay->dual-link DVI adapter running from the mac to the input of the matrox box. Inbetween the adapter and box I have a dual link DVI cable.

From the output of the matrox I have single link dvi's on port 1 and 3 (skipping port two) to the monitors.

The OS can see 3840x1200 but when I select it only one monitor lights up and other other stays in powersaving mode.

Any ideas? this is driving me crazy

Thanks a lot.

Jonathan

I don't have the Dual Link adapter to test for you, only the single link.
I run 2 24" Samsungs with a TripleHead2Go (3840x1200) on my MBP, you have the correct setup using ports 1 and 3, but I have Dual Link cables running to the monitors as well. 1920x1200 @60hz is the maximum a single link cable can carry as far as I know, so you might want to try using Dual Link cables there first.

I have never bothered to buy the dual link DVI adapter as I believe the MBA (from Apples spec page) can only output a maximum of 2560 x 1600 so you may be out of luck. Although the specs don't really indicate the max resolution in clamshell mode, which should be higher than with the internal display on as well.

Please let me know if you get it working as I would love to stop carrying my MBP back and forth to work just to support my screens, would much rather carry my 13" MBA.

jhaber
Feb 1, 2011, 12:33 PM
bump

phantax
Feb 1, 2011, 07:19 PM
1) Did you try using all Dual Link cables? I have had problems using single link cables anywhere in the setup.

2) Is the device hooked directly to a usb port without a hub, etc. I have had problems when the device is hooked to some hubs. Is the light a solid green?

3) Do you have Matrox PowerDesk installed and running running with a configuration of 2 * 1920x1200 60Hz

4) Did you setup the GXP control panel properly for the screens, aspect ratio and resolutions?

Mikey7c8
Feb 1, 2011, 07:44 PM
Use / Borrow another laptop to test with. Super quick, and it'll tell you where the problem is.