PDA

View Full Version : Powermac g5 vs Macbook?

lucasofcontempt
Feb 2, 2011, 12:17 AM
hello,i am fairly new to the mac world(last year) and i recently purchased a powermac g5 with dual 1.8 ghz processor , it will be my first mac desktop and i was wondering how it would compare against my late 2007 2.2 ghz macbook? I plan to upgrade the powermac to at least 4gb of ram and a bigger hard drive.
Will it be significantly slower than my macbook or will it be not much of a difference? I plan on running leopard on it.

also can i use a magic mouse and trackpad with the powermac?

mgartner0622
Feb 2, 2011, 01:07 AM
Hello,
The PowerMac will probably have a faster data access time, and things will load faster, as the hard drive probably runs at 7200rpm versus the 5400 that is probably in your macbook.
Overall, they are about the same for day to day uses, like email, web browsing, ect, and the powermac will probably startup quite a bit faster than your MacBook, as long as it's not full of "junk".
With 4GB of ram, that machine will run leopard very well. You'll just be limited as it's an aging machine and swiftly loosing support (I.E. Snow leopard, CS5), but as long as you're not a professional power user, it will be just fine.
Your graphics card is probably better than the intel card the MacBook has though, so you will see an improvement there.

drmacpro
Feb 2, 2011, 01:28 AM
Your Magic Mouse or Track Pad Won't work. It's not supported in Leopard. You would also need a Bluetooth module

Hrududu
Feb 2, 2011, 01:40 AM