PDA

View Full Version : Does the MBA have an Infa-Red port for Apple Remote?




miniroll32
Feb 7, 2011, 03:38 AM
I'm looking to use a MBA for presentations. Does it include an Infa-Red port so I can use my Apple Remote for Powerpoint/Keynote? :)



MikePA
Feb 7, 2011, 03:46 AM
Let's see - Go to the Apple site and look for myself or ask on MR? What to do, what to do?

No, it doesn't have IR.

MultiFinder17
Feb 7, 2011, 09:37 AM
The older ones do, and the newest ones do not.

FuzzyCub
Feb 7, 2011, 09:47 AM
Let's see - Go to the Apple site and look for myself or ask on MR? What to do, what to do?

No, it doesn't have IR.

Here's a post with a dumb question. Let's see - Ignore the post and get on with my life or try and make the OP feel dumb for asking this question? What to do, what to do?

chaoticbear
Feb 7, 2011, 10:42 AM
If you have an iPhone/iPod Touch, you can use the Remote app, if that's of any help to you. Only downside is having to have them on the same wifi network.

hfg
Feb 7, 2011, 10:51 AM
You might also look around for a usb-remote solution which comes with a IR or RF remote and a small usb receiver which you plug into your computer.

DavieBoy
Feb 7, 2011, 10:53 AM
here's a post with a dumb question. Let's see - ignore the post and get on with my life or try and make the op feel dumb for asking this question? What to do, what to do?

+1

MikePA
Feb 7, 2011, 03:37 PM
Here's a post with a dumb question. Let's see - Ignore the post and get on with my life or try and make the OP feel dumb for asking this question? What to do, what to do?

The OP should absolutely not feel dumb, nor was I trying to make the OP feel dumb. One person can't can't know everything. The OP should feel lazy for not checking the Apple site himself, which is what I did.

jdechko
Feb 7, 2011, 04:42 PM
If you have an iPhone/iPod Touch, you can use the Remote app, if that's of any help to you. Only downside is having to have them on the same wifi network.

Here's a how-to for setting up an ad hoc (no router) wireless network between your mac and iphone/ipod touch.

http://www.taranfx.com/how-to-connect-iphone-to-mac-adhoc-wireless-without-router-reverse-tether

*Bonus tip: Use the built-in network locations feature to create a profile so that you can automatically connect in the future.

karlegas
Feb 7, 2011, 06:48 PM
For the presentations you can got a Bluetooth Remote from Targus (http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3421309&CAWELAID=292274928) is for Mac and works ok to me.
http://trus.imageg.net/graphics/product_images/pTRU1-5533659dt.jpg
Karl