PDA

View Full Version : looking for a simple network for media file transfers




videoed
Feb 7, 2011, 01:44 PM
Hi,

very new to this, hoping to setup a network between 3 Mac Pros for the purpose of copying video files back and forth.

all three towers are within 30 ft of each other

all three computers get internet via wifi

many of the file transfers will be 1 GB or less, sometimes up to 300 GB.

current procedure is a simple fw800 external that we drop into and drag off of.

looked into gigabit ethernet? would this work? does it need special cables?

can it be running while wifi network is running?

thanks!

ed



Alrescha
Feb 7, 2011, 02:17 PM
At a minimum you'd want a Gigabit Ethernet Switch, and some CAT-5e cables. Over the 30-foot run, CAT-5 cables may work just as well.

If you haven't changed the Network settings on the Mac Pros, they should each pick up a self-assigned IP address as soon as you plug them into the switch, and they'll be able to talk to each other over the wired network.

The problem is that these machines presumably are all on the same wireless network. You want to ensure that the big files travel over the wired network and not the wireless. The default network service order for OS X puts the Ethernet network first, but some folks have observed that this doesn't always work as expected.

Using the self-assigned IP addresses when you open up folders on the remote machines will force the use of the wired network, but it's not as simple as just picking them off the Finder list. It may be worth manually configuring the IP addresses on the wired network if it turns out you have to type them into the Finder's Connect to Server dialog box often.

A.

videoed
Feb 7, 2011, 03:22 PM
thanks for the response!

can you recommend a brand of switch?

I am seeing numerous options in the $25-$50 range, are these good quality or does something more expensive work better?

Thanks!

Alrescha
Feb 7, 2011, 04:43 PM
can you recommend a brand of switch?
Thanks!

At the moment I am using a 2.5 year-old TRENDnet 8-port switch that cost me $28 shipped. It hasn't melted yet, but your mileage may vary.

Sure, more expense can net you more features, but now you're getting away from the 'simple network' you asked for.

A.

belvdr
Feb 7, 2011, 08:42 PM
videoed,

I have also used a cheaper switch (Netgear GS605 or GS105) without issue.

Also, is your Internet router close to the Mac Pros? If so, just wire the new gigabit switch into your router and let everything go wired.