PDA

View Full Version : This might sound crazy but thinking about selling Mac Pro for 11.6" MBA + 27" ACD




jjahshik32
Feb 7, 2011, 05:12 PM
Does it sound really that crazy? The Mac Pro is a beast and the only real use I get out of it is playing hd content connected to my hdtv. But I wonder if the mba is powerful enough to do it as well?



simsaladimbamba
Feb 7, 2011, 05:15 PM
Depends on what kind of HD content you mean? You could also look for a dedicated C2D Mac mini to do this, even used one will be able to play 1080p content using the H264 codec.

hcho3
Feb 7, 2011, 05:32 PM
Yes, you are crazy.

jjahshik32
Feb 7, 2011, 06:42 PM
Yes, you are crazy.

Thank you, my sense as returned. :P

Alvesang
Feb 7, 2011, 07:22 PM
Does it sound really that crazy? The Mac Pro is a beast and the only real use I get out of it is playing hd content connected to my hdtv. But I wonder if the mba is powerful enough to do it as well?

Crazy? Naw... Sounds nuts! Why did you buy a Mac Pro? Just for watching videos? That would seem to be crazy. A Mac mini does that wonderfully for just a fraction of the MP's price.

jjahshik32
Feb 7, 2011, 07:25 PM
Crazy? Naw... Sounds nuts! Why did you buy a Mac Pro? Just for watching videos? That would seem to be crazy. A Mac mini does that wonderfully for just a fraction of the MP's price.

I got the Mac Pro to do everything basically. I've had the 13" mbp 2.4GHz with the nvidia 320m and it was dog slow as a main machine. Some of the hd contents that I have (bigger than 5GB) plays too slow on that (low framerates, yes even on plex I can tell) so the Mac Pro was my choice (as well as the ability to use 4 HDD). The 15" and 17" mbp could be sufficient for my needs in speed but I just want that darn 27" display. LOL.

nonarKitten
Feb 7, 2011, 07:34 PM
Does it sound really that crazy? The Mac Pro is a beast and the only real use I get out of it is playing hd content connected to my hdtv. But I wonder if the mba is powerful enough to do it as well?

The 1.4GHz isn't quite up to snuff -- I have stuttering problems sometimes. Opt for the 1.6GHz version with the 4GB of RAM if you do.

However, considering an iMac takes up no more desk real-estate and is only a few hundred dollars more, I'd just go that route.

Then use something like Dropbox to keep your personal documents synced between your iMac and MBA; use the extra storage space on the iMac for backing up your old junk and your media.

Icaras
Feb 7, 2011, 08:02 PM
Hey JJ, I recall you being there at launch for the new Mac Pros, just as I was. I had purchased the 3.33 Hex core with an ACD 27", but sold the Pro for a new iMac i5 and I'm very happy that I did.

I also picked up the new 11.6" Air as well and the iMac + Air combo is working great for me. I kept the 27" though as it's just such a beautiful display. And actually, my wife has been borrowing my Air as of late because her HD died on her MBP, so she has it currently plugged in to the 27" ACD.

I can tell you that HD playback isn't as smooth as my iMac or the Mac Pro when pushing to the 27" ACD. I should mention that I went for the ultimate MBA configuration as well. So I second Nonarkitten's comments with the stuttering issues (even on the 1.6GHz) and the iMac route as well. Or at least a Mac Mini even? But if you're hoping for a laptop, "take on the go" setup, the Air won't give 100% perfect playback on the 27" ACD.

That said though? I still love my Air. That little machine still kicks some @$$ in other areas. Love the flash drive :)