PDA

View Full Version : requirements for lion




Trentolol
Feb 8, 2011, 07:41 PM
What does everyone think the requirements for OSX Lion going to be like?



miles01110
Feb 8, 2011, 07:42 PM
A 1 GHz A4 processor with 256 MB RAM.


errr...what?

asdf542
Feb 8, 2011, 08:23 PM
Intel Core 2 Duo
1 GB of RAM (2 GB recommended)
*insert single digit number here* GB of disk space available

I'd be very surprised if Apple continues to support 5 year old Core Duo machines.

JKK photography
Feb 8, 2011, 08:45 PM
Intel Core 2 Duo
1 GB of RAM (2 GB recommended)
*insert single digit number here* GB of disk space available

I'd be very surprised if Apple continues to support 5 year old Core Duo machines.

It's an Intel based Mac, so im willing to bet it will be supported.

alust2013
Feb 8, 2011, 08:47 PM
Intel Core 2 Duo
1 GB of RAM (2 GB recommended)
*insert single digit number here* GB of disk space available

I'd be very surprised if Apple continues to support 5 year old Core Duo machines.

I don't see why not. It's the same architecture, plus to put it into perspective, you can still run windows 7 on a P4.

asdf542
Feb 8, 2011, 08:55 PM
They might have one more OS refresh in them but we'll see.

JKK photography
Feb 8, 2011, 10:10 PM
They might have one more OS refresh in them but we'll see.

There's nothing technically stopping them from being upgraded. It's the same architecture. Even if they aren't very powerful, they have a modern architecture that Apple is still currently supporting.

If Apple moves to ARM, then yeah... but so would every other Intel based Mac.

pacmania1982
Feb 9, 2011, 02:46 AM
I don't see why not. It's the same architecture, plus to put it into perspective, you can still run windows 7 on a P4.

http://www.pcworld.com/article/166992/windows_7_hits_a_new_low.html

pac

aiqw9182
Feb 9, 2011, 04:33 AM
There's nothing technically stopping them from being upgraded. It's the same architecture. Even if they aren't very powerful, they have a modern architecture that Apple is still currently supporting.

If Apple moves to ARM, then yeah... but so would every other Intel based Mac.

There will come a time where these machines will not meet at the very least the RAM requirements. IIRC all Core Duo/Solo machines have a 2 GB limit. Let's also keep in mind the speed of this DDR2 RAM is 667 MHz.

Or when/if Apple wants to do away with the 32-bit EFI only machines.

Androidpwns
Feb 19, 2011, 10:31 AM
It's an Intel based Mac, so im willing to bet it will be supported.

Agreed.