PDA

View Full Version : My AppleTV2 Story




rockhard
Feb 8, 2011, 10:26 PM
OK, this will be a long post. I spend a lot of time typing this out before, but for some reason macrumors logged me out of my account when I went to hit the submit button and lost it all. I was too mad to type it out again, but I'm just relaxing here so I thought I'd type it out again. Sorry if its too long...

OK. So, I bought an AppleTV2 when it was first released in Canada. I've had an Airport Express since it was first released and loved the idea of streaming music wirelessly while still sounding great. I moved into a different house and ended up putting my "main" 7.1 surround system downstairs and then set up a 2.1 stereo with a 42" LCD in the main living area upstairs. We only use the downstairs system for blu ray movies or video games. Upstairs is used to all the TV watching and for playing music when we have friends over. Anyways, the idea of the AppleTV for $119 (in Canada) was an absolute steal of a deal when you get the same capability of streaming music wirelessly, Netflix, Youtube, iTunes movies...etc etc. Everything worked great! We even rented an HD movie from iTunes and it worked flawlessly. My girlfriend was hooked! At this point I had a cable internet connection with a 9mbps down using a DLink router that was probably 2 years old and starting to lose the connection daily.
My girlfriend and I regularly have people over so we usually have music playing either from iTunes or just straight off the AppleTV using the radio without an issue. Netflix or YouTube also worked without issues.

After Christmas my girlfriend and I tried renting a few movies from iTunes and suddenly we had a message saying the movie wouldn't be available for 6 hours. This was the first time, so I figured it was just a busy time so iTunes servers were busy. We tried again and again and again. Literally, every movie would tell me it was available in 6 hours! I just assumed it was the DLink router considering it was dropping its connection daily. I didn't really want to, but I decided to bundle my TV with my internet and switch to DSL. For the same price I got a 15mbps download DSL plan WITH a 2wire modem/router saving me from having to buy a new router. I know DSL typically isn't as good as cable for internet, but I thought with the faster speed it should help. Again, tried renting a couple movies and again, available in 6 hours. Turns out, the ping was horrendous and the speed wasn't as good. So, finally I call Apple and they tell me they are having problems with their servers since Christmas and refund me the money for trying to rent their movies.
So after all of this, its quite obvious I'm a bit of an Apple fan. I have a macbook, macbook pro, two iphones, airport express, appletv2, and then to try and solve these problems I switch back to cable and buy an Airport Extreme!!
So at this point I'm back at the more stable cable internet and dropped $200 on an Airport Extreme hoping it would communicate better with AppleTV2. Still, NO!!! Available in 6 hours!!!

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1149236931.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

There is my speedtest. Everything in my house is wireless. As mentioned above, macbook, macbook pro, 2 iphones, airport express, appletv2, but also, wii, xbox360 and ps3. Nothing is hard wired.

My parents have an AppleTV with the same ISP as me with the same plan but they are using a 7 year old DLink router and their movies work instantly. Also, my brother has one and he is using DSL with the same 2wire modem/router but he has the basic plan at 7mbps download and he can rent movies and have them work instantly too!

So finally, after renting multiple movies, switching ISPs twice, buying an Apple router I got mad and called back. I was on the phone for literally 2 hours troubleshooting and doing a FULL restore. Nothing worked. So they agreed to replace the AppleTV2.

So my question is...if Netflix, homesharing (ie airplay), and YouTube all work, how can a new AppleTV fix the SUPER slow download times with iTunes?

Has anybody else had the same problem?

Sorry for my long story...



Cuthbert
Feb 8, 2011, 11:53 PM
It's your 2wire router! I had the same issue with that a year ago. Ditch that router/modem and you're good I'll bet.

rockhard
Feb 9, 2011, 12:38 AM
Thanks for the response. If you read the whole thing you would have seen I switched back to cable and bought an airport extreme! Same issues...

Flipstar
Feb 9, 2011, 12:47 AM
Have you tried hardwiring the ATV2 directly into your modem?

fpnc
Feb 9, 2011, 02:31 AM
What DNS server are you using? That's a known issue with iTunes/Apple TV. You should start with your ISP's DNS and avoid Google's and OpenDNS. Here is an article on this issue:

http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/10/12/20/apple_tv_itunes_downloads_slowed_by_google_dns.html

rockhard
Feb 9, 2011, 02:59 PM
I haven't tried hardwiring the AppleTV. It's not an option for me. They advertise that it works via WiFi and I've witnessed it working at two different people's places in my same city using the same ISP and a different one.

I read about the DNS servers, but it never made sense to me! I'm going to read that article right now.

Thanks!

rockhard
Feb 9, 2011, 03:04 PM
I checked my DNS settings and they are my ISP.

Mr. Savage
Feb 9, 2011, 03:17 PM
OK, this will be a long post. I spend a lot of time typing this out before, but for some reason macrumors logged me out of my account when I went to hit the submit button and lost it all. I was too mad to type it out again, but I'm just relaxing here so I thought I'd type it out again.


Just check off the "remember me" box when you log on.

Flipstar
Feb 9, 2011, 03:32 PM
Too much work and not enough troubleshooting.

rockhard
Feb 9, 2011, 05:02 PM
Too much work and not enough troubleshooting.

What do you mean? Switching ISPs, new routers, many attempts renting, full restores? I've literally tried everything!

Cuthbert
Feb 9, 2011, 07:53 PM
What is your current modem?

rockhard
Feb 9, 2011, 08:27 PM
What is your current modem?

LOL, dude! Read the original post!!

Brand new Airport Extreme. :D

powerman
Feb 9, 2011, 08:45 PM
I am trying to rent a movie right now and it has said it will start in 36 min for well over 36 min. Can't wait to see if you get anywhere with this.

Cuthbert
Feb 9, 2011, 08:47 PM
LOL, dude! Read the original post!!

Brand new Airport Extreme. :D

I thought you had cable Internet now... Does your airport have a cable jack on it?

The Airport Extreme is a broadband router, but it is not a modem.

I've read your post and am trying to be polite. Please do the same if you want help.

rockhard
Feb 9, 2011, 08:50 PM
OH, I apologize. My fault. Its a Motorola modem.

I don't know why I read that as "router". :(

Sorry Cuthbert.

Cuthbert
Feb 9, 2011, 09:11 PM
OH, I apologize. My fault. Its a Motorola modem.

I don't know why I read that as "router". :(

Sorry Cuthbert.

No problem. These things are very frustrating. I had the same issue on dsl. I had a 2wire modem hooked to my airport extreme. There are a few other threads that address that issue. Long story short, i changed out the 2wire and things worked perfectly again.

Can you give me the specific model of the motorola modem?

rockhard
Feb 9, 2011, 09:14 PM
Its an SB5101. Same as my parents using a 7 year old DLink without issues.

When I used the 2wire I didn't have a router at all...just the 2wire. I couldn't get the airport express to communicate with it at all, which was another reason why I switched back to cable and bought the Airport Extreme.

bozzykid
Feb 9, 2011, 09:54 PM
Its an SB5101. Same as my parents using a 7 year old DLink without issues.

When I used the 2wire I didn't have a router at all...just the 2wire. I couldn't get the airport express to communicate with it at all, which was another reason why I switched back to cable and bought the Airport Extreme.

The AE router wouldn't work with a dsl modem/router combo unless you disabled the router part of the 2wire combo unit.

rockhard
Feb 10, 2011, 12:21 AM
Sorry, when you say AE do you mean Airport Express or Airport Extreme?

I only had the Airport Express setup to play music wirelessly, not as a router. I tried everything for it to communicate with the 2wire modem/router but couldn't. When I switched back to cable using the Airport Extreme I had no issue at all setting it up.

karsten
Feb 10, 2011, 12:24 AM
it probably depends on what server you get routed to does itunes all serve off the same one?

rockhard
Feb 10, 2011, 12:51 AM
They might in Canada.

I was told that they were overloaded and to try again in 2 weeks from the time I called. I gave it three weeks and had the same issue...

karsten
Feb 10, 2011, 07:39 AM
if that's the case see if you can figure out the ip of the various servers and edit your hosts file to point to the right one:)

rockhard
Feb 14, 2011, 12:58 AM
That sounds like something I'd never be able to figure out :o

I received the new AppleTV2 on Friday and got it all set up. I tried renting an iTunes movie and...guess what...available in 12 HOURS!!!!

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1156697287.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

I just did that speedtest now while typing this during the movie download. What is going on?!?!?

FreeState
Feb 14, 2011, 01:10 AM
Hopefully Im reading this right. You have an Airport Express and and Airport Extreme?

How do you have the Express connected to your network from the Extreme? If you have it set up as "extend a network" change it to "join a wireless network." That fixed the problem for me.

Ingster
Feb 14, 2011, 03:05 AM
How's your streaming from itunes for movies to the apple tv2?
Can you rent from your mac - how long does it take to download?

Go into your settings on the apple TV2 and check wireless strength if it's 1 bar down or more it will take an age to do anything - had this issue myself, and put an airport express in extend wireless mode right behind my tv and now have a full 5 bar signal (think it's 5 anyway!) and it streams well - also tried it with an ethernet cable from the airport express to the apple tv2 and that worked better, had to transfer that cable to my Sky +HD box though so looking for a 5 port switch for both to be connected to the airport express.

My setup

Macbook Pro with Library on Time capsule.
Broadband - DSL (Sky D-Link Router) ruunning b/g network bridged to Time capsule, time capsule running wireless N only with airport express extending the range of the wireless.
I know there are a few steps for data to get to the apple tv via MBP/TC but I don't mind the little 1-2 min lag between selecting the movie and it playing, gives me time to make a brew etc ;)

aussieinjapan
Feb 14, 2011, 05:48 AM
That sounds like something I'd never be able to figure out :o

I received the new AppleTV2 on Friday and got it all set up. I tried renting an iTunes movie and...guess what...available in 12 HOURS!!!!

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1156697287.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

I just did that speedtest now while typing this during the movie download. What is going on?!?!?

WOW, i dont want to brag....but is that a typical speed where you are from ?
I just upgraded from ADSL to VDSL (a kind of hikari fibre or express internet in Japan) its not the fastest because we have to share it with our neighbours in the apartment complex BUT

I got 38.21 mb/s download and 37.41 mb/s upload

Thank you Japan

GOOD luck by the way

Les Kern
Feb 14, 2011, 06:16 AM
This is how I would troubleshoot.

Simplify.
Remove everything. Hook up your computer to the router with a wire. Download to the laptop/desktop with iTunes.
If that doesn't work, borrow your parents D-Link and try again.
If that doesn't work you're probably looking at moving.
:)

Les Kern
Feb 14, 2011, 06:18 AM
WOW, i dont want to brag....but is that a typical speed where you are from ?
I got 38.21 mb/s download and 37.41 mb/s upload

Thank you Japan

GOOD luck by the way

America lags behind in everything... jobs, health care, happiness, income equality.. it's who we are. (Hey, we got that obesity crown though!) Just keep sending us cheap plastic crap for WalMart and we won't complain about any of that. Tea Party's got our back.

aussieinjapan
Feb 14, 2011, 06:27 AM
This is how I would troubleshoot.

Simplify.
Remove everything. Hook up your computer to the router with a wire. Download to the laptop/desktop with iTunes.
If that doesn't work, borrow your parents D-Link and try again.
If that doesn't work you're probably looking at moving.
:)

Apart from the moving, I would do all of the above - Having gone thru a similar
situation when I upgraded my net yesterday. Hook it up to your computer with a cable then use the wireless.

aussieinjapan
Feb 14, 2011, 06:30 AM
America lags behind in everything... jobs, health care, happiness, income equality.. it's who we are. (Hey, we got that obesity crown though!) Just keep sending us cheap plastic crap for WalMart and we won't complain about any of that. Tea Party's got our back.

Well, you have a better Amazon than we have here and you have better TV (dont get me started on Japanese Tv, its crap) and ummm better beaches.

benoitgphoto
Feb 14, 2011, 07:00 AM
You have a very new Airport Extreme. Configure the 5 Ghz wifi Network and set-up the AppleTv on the 5 Ghz network. Please report the results.

iFrankie
Feb 14, 2011, 09:14 AM
I have same problem. I can't rent or purchase movies from the AppleTV2.

I can play Netflix on the AppleTV2 and stream movies from the computer, etc. I can also purchase/rent movies from iTunes on the computer and they download very quickly.

I've tried all the suggestions and have given up. At this point, I've considered it a good problem to have. It's probably saved me money. I just stick to the Netflix streaming and the DVDs we get in the mail.

nittanylion99
Feb 14, 2011, 01:24 PM
I had this same problem on my apple tv that I got for xmas. I tried to rent inception and it told me it would be ready in 9 hours.

My first reaction was to upgrade my service to 20 mbps. I did that and still had problems. My ISP tech support sent someone out who replaced the wiring into my house and my modem. And I still had problems.

I then called Apple support. In working with them, I found that although I had d/l speeds of 17 Mbps per speedtest and cnet, I was only seeing d/l speeds of 1.5 Mbps in iTunes. Apple support had no idea why. But at least I knew where the problem was.

So I went in the opposite direction of the guidance out there. I switched my DNS settings in my Time Capsule to OpenDNS and saw my iTunes d/l's go from 1.5 Mbps to 16 Mbps. I rented The Town and it played immediately and without interruption.

I know this goes against all of the suggestions out there - but it worked for me. YMMV.

benoitgphoto
Feb 14, 2011, 02:31 PM
I had this same problem on my apple tv that I got for xmas. I tried to rent inception and it told me it would be ready in 9 hours.

My first reaction was to upgrade my service to 20 mbps. I did that and still had problems. My ISP tech support sent someone out who replaced the wiring into my house and my modem. And I still had problems.

I then called Apple support. In working with them, I found that although I had d/l speeds of 17 Mbps per speedtest and cnet, I was only seeing d/l speeds of 1.5 Mbps in iTunes. Apple support had no idea why. But at least I knew where the problem was.

So I went in the opposite direction of the guidance out there. I switched my DNS settings in my Time Capsule to OpenDNS and saw my iTunes d/l's go from 1.5 Mbps to 16 Mbps. I rented The Town and it played immediately and without interruption.

I know this goes against all of the suggestions out there - but it worked for me. YMMV.

It's possible that your ISP is throttling download from iTunes server...

rockhard
Feb 14, 2011, 03:08 PM
I turned on the 5GHz and have it set up. Did a speedtest and got the same thing...I don't want to have to pay to rent a movie to check if its better! I will at some point though.


AppleTV is showing a full 5 bar connection. The router is only in the next room.

When you say you were getting slow downloads from the iTunes store, how did you check your download speed?

Edit: I just started downloading a podcast and was getting 8.8mbps download speed. Something isn't adding up here!

Restinbeast
Feb 14, 2011, 03:27 PM
America lags behind in everything... jobs, health care, happiness, income equality.. it's who we are. (Hey, we got that obesity crown though!) Just keep sending us cheap plastic crap for WalMart and we won't complain about any of that. Tea Party's got our back.

Really? I get 95+mpbs dl

Try upgrading your internet...

As far as OP, that connection is pretty damn slow. I never have a problem whatsoever with my atv2 via wifi, but my wireless connection on the one in my master br (only wireless atv2 in house) is around 55mbps dl.

You really want to get like 25+ mbps dl to get a good connection for streaming HD movies.

FroColin
Feb 14, 2011, 03:33 PM
I got 38.21 mb/s download and 37.41 mb/s upload

Thank you Japan

GOOD luck by the way

WHAT????????? DUDE. That's the fastest upload I have ever seen. I suddenly HATE AMERICA. I knew we were behind but I didn't ever imagine it was THAT behind. I hit 18 mb/s download when hooked up to ethernet and MAYBE 2 mb/s upload. I thought that was reasonably fast but now I find out that that SUCKS. Why does america suck at everything! (I'm not trying to start something political here btw). I'm moving. Right now. Seriously, I just packed. ;)

benoitgphoto
Feb 14, 2011, 07:50 PM
I turned on the 5GHz and have it set up. Did a speedtest and got the same thing...I don't want to have to pay to rent a movie to check if its better! I will at some point though.


AppleTV is showing a full 5 bar connection. The router is only in the next room.

When you say you were getting slow downloads from the iTunes store, how did you check your download speed?

Edit: I just started downloading a podcast and was getting 8.8mbps download speed. Something isn't adding up here!


Two things :
1: I would give open DNS a try as some said that it improved their issue.

2: The Apple Tv might suffer from 2.4 GHz interference which is very common considering the load of that band now. Often, switching to 5 Ghz resolve the issue. Try a 0.99$ Tv show or a movie in promotion.

I have this new Apple Tv since the first shipment (september I think) and I got download issue maybe twice but never up to one hour and more. 45 min max was the warning. Stopped the download and re-rented and it fixed the long download time. I believe it was on Apple side. Other than that, streaming is instant...few seconds and boom.

Bearxor
Feb 14, 2011, 08:01 PM
WHAT????????? DUDE. That's the fastest upload I have ever seen. I suddenly HATE AMERICA. I knew we were behind but I didn't ever imagine it was THAT behind. I hit 18 mb/s download when hooked up to ethernet and MAYBE 2 mb/s upload. I thought that was reasonably fast but now I find out that that SUCKS. Why does america suck at everything! (I'm not trying to start something political here btw). I'm moving. Right now. Seriously, I just packed. ;)

It's amazing what you can do when you only have 145k sq miles to connect. I bet you could hand pick areas of the US that have that type of speed available and hit 145k sq miles easily. Shall we start with Verizon FIOS availability?

Mac.World
Feb 15, 2011, 03:45 AM
America lags behind in everything... jobs, health care, happiness, income equality.. it's who we are. (Hey, we got that obesity crown though!) Just keep sending us cheap plastic crap for WalMart and we won't complain about any of that. Tea Party's got our back.

I have lived and worked all over the world. I got news for you kid, America really is a great place to live.

nittanylion99
Feb 15, 2011, 07:39 AM
It's possible that your ISP is throttling download from iTunes server...

I think they might and actually called and asked. They said they don't restrict any connections and the tech I talked to said he never noticed any slower connections to itunes with his home connection. *shrug*

I am just glad I got around the problem with OpenDNS. I really like the ATV2 and the ability to rent movies.

aussieinjapan
Feb 15, 2011, 08:09 AM
It's amazing what you can do when you only have 145k sq miles to connect. I bet you could hand pick areas of the US that have that type of speed available and hit 145k sq miles easily. Shall we start with Verizon FIOS availability?

I'll tip my hat to the Japanese on this one - very forward thinking concerning the interent. 12 years ago, my homeland Australia was ahead of them but now, AND I have to remind people, I live in the sticks....this speed is nothing compared to homes that are actually wired up to the network (not like me, that is sharing one fibre connection thru out the building).

Sorry to go off topic but whats the prices like over there ? Im paying about $50 (we dont have caps in Japan) US a month

rockhard
Feb 15, 2011, 09:26 AM
Two things :
1: I would give open DNS a try as some said that it improved their issue.

2: The Apple Tv might suffer from 2.4 GHz interference which is very common considering the load of that band now. Often, switching to 5 Ghz resolve the issue. Try a 0.99$ Tv show or a movie in promotion.

I have this new Apple Tv since the first shipment (september I think) and I got download issue maybe twice but never up to one hour and more. 45 min max was the warning. Stopped the download and re-rented and it fixed the long download time. I believe it was on Apple side. Other than that, streaming is instant...few seconds and boom.

Good call on a $0.99 rental. Might give that a shot after work now that it's set up using 5GHz.

rockhard
Feb 15, 2011, 09:29 AM
WOW, i dont want to brag....but is that a typical speed where you are from ?
I just upgraded from ADSL to VDSL (a kind of hikari fibre or express internet in Japan) its not the fastest because we have to share it with our neighbours in the apartment complex BUT

I got 38.21 mb/s download and 37.41 mb/s upload

Thank you Japan

GOOD luck by the way

Ha, ya pretty slow here. My plan is 9mbps. That was also during the download, I normally hit 8.8. I know, WOW!

There isn't enough competition here. There's only one cable provider and one phone provider, their plans are similarly priced. I prefer the cable internet. They have a "Nitro" plan that is up to 50mbps download and only 2 mbps upload and its $150 a month.

nittanylion99
Feb 15, 2011, 09:51 AM
There are free TV rentals available in the iTunes store as well. I was using one of the Lost Season 6 Specials in HD to test my downloads when I was having my problems. check those out as well.

Bearxor
Feb 15, 2011, 08:53 PM
I'll tip my hat to the Japanese on this one - very forward thinking concerning the interent. 12 years ago, my homeland Australia was ahead of them but now, AND I have to remind people, I live in the sticks....this speed is nothing compared to homes that are actually wired up to the network (not like me, that is sharing one fibre connection thru out the building).

Sorry to go off topic but whats the prices like over there ? Im paying about $50 (we dont have caps in Japan) US a month

How is wiring up the equivalent of the state of Montana forward thinking? You could take half this country's population, put them in Montana, and give everyone 100/100 access for cheap.

Now, don't get me wrong. I love Japan. I hope to be able to go soon. But, I'm not amazed or awed by Japans accomplishment of stringing cable from one building to another across an island.

rockhard
Feb 16, 2011, 10:54 AM
There are free TV rentals available in the iTunes store as well. I was using one of the Lost Season 6 Specials in HD to test my downloads when I was having my problems. check those out as well.

Do you mean on iTunes store via your computer or from the AppleTV itself?

My speeds are fine downloading from my computer, and I can't access TV shows from the AppleTV. I remember reading somewhere that you can't do that in Canada or something?

benoitgphoto
Feb 16, 2011, 06:47 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

No TV shows renting in Canada. You must have a US iTunes store account. Google for that as there are easy workaround to have a US account in Canada.