PDA

View Full Version : For those with 2gb of RAM




dlamin517
Feb 9, 2011, 04:22 PM
For those of you with the new new macbook airs with the 2gb of ram installed, do you ever feel like you should have gotten the 4gb option? Do you ever get slowdowns as a result of too little ram space? Thing is amazon does not have the 4gb option for sale. I would have to resort to getting it from apple.com and it would bring the price from $970(amazon.com) to $1,200(apple.com after tax). I dont know if 2gb of ram is worth that. Thanks in advance.



zenio
Feb 9, 2011, 04:27 PM
Hello Apple?

It's 2011 & you're so cheap, you only install a pathetic 2GB. ITs a good thing you're believers are so in love with your pastor.

angrylawyer
Feb 9, 2011, 04:46 PM
I have the 2gb 13" and I'm happy with it. The most intensive program I have is photoshop CS5, but the vast majority of my time is just spent in firefox.

Undo Redo
Feb 9, 2011, 04:47 PM
For those of you with the new new macbook airs with the 2gb of ram installed, do you ever feel like you should have gotten the 4gb option?
No, I'm fine with 2GB but it's a secondary computer. I rarely have more than a few programs running at one time.

kepner
Feb 9, 2011, 04:50 PM
I don't mind having only 2GB in my Air. I used a first-gen MacBook with only 2GB of RAM for a while, and I could always tell when the RAM was swapping because I would see the spinning cursor for ~10 seconds. I haven't noticed that at all with the Air. I assume it's because the SSD is so fast that, while RAM swapping is still occurring, it doesn't take long enough for me to notice.

b-rad g
Feb 9, 2011, 05:57 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

No problem with 2gb RAM here. Usually page outs stays at 0 for almost a week. Usually stays around 1.13gb used.