PDA

View Full Version : Need Advice!




thisisarcadia
Feb 13, 2011, 07:00 PM
I am currently looking to get a macbook air to just carry around to class and use instead of taking my macbook and all my books. Would the macbook air be good for that? Also how does ilife and other programs that recommend a higher processor run on the MBA? Thanks for answering my questions!



AlvinNguyen
Feb 13, 2011, 07:03 PM
If you're using electronic text books then yes. I would beef up and get the MBA Ultimate in 11.6" unless you really need the bigger screen. I remember being at UW and carrying all the text books plus laptop and it was a PIA! If we had this technology in 07-08 all I would use is a 11.6" MBA and my iPhone for college. Maybe add an iPad wifi if I need to read books in bed or while running to class.

rkaufmann87
Feb 13, 2011, 07:11 PM
I don't think the higher processor speed is really necessary however I'd upgrade to 4GB RAM and 128GB SSD. The delta to add 1.6GHz CPU is only $100 but I don't think it's needed and probably use the money towards AppleCare. The configuration I'd recommend is the 1.4GHz CPU, 4GB RAM & 128GB SSD.

AlvinNguyen
Feb 13, 2011, 07:27 PM
I don't think the higher processor speed is really necessary however I'd upgrade to 4GB RAM and 128GB SSD. The delta to add 1.6GHz CPU is only $100 but I don't think it's needed and probably use the money towards AppleCare. The configuration I'd recommend is the 1.4GHz CPU, 4GB RAM & 128GB SSD.

^ I agree but the 128 SSD might not be too necessary if he's only using it as a education machine. I feel that he would benefit more from a portable HD. The RAM is recommended though.

thisisarcadia
Feb 13, 2011, 08:21 PM
hey thanks for the replies, I was thinking about getting an external HD to just plug up if I needed it but is the 4 GBs of ram really that crucial? I have 2 GBs right now in my MB

KPOM
Feb 13, 2011, 08:44 PM
hey thanks for the replies, I was thinking about getting an external HD to just plug up if I needed it but is the 4 GBs of ram really that crucial? I have 2 GBs right now in my MB

It likely isn't necessary in itself, but a lot of us recommend getting 4GB since the RAM isn't upgradable later. If you plan on keeping it for a while, you might want the extra RAM.

AlvinNguyen
Feb 13, 2011, 08:55 PM
Yeah, if it's your only computer, upgrade the RAM. I am planning on getting the new MBP and so I got the base model MBA. Even now, I might return mine and order the 4Gb version just to future-proof my air. I don't want to have to feel the need to buy a new one in 12 months.

thisisarcadia
Feb 13, 2011, 11:29 PM
Well I am getting a MBP this fall to use for music production and that will have 4GB of ram, but i may just get the 4 GBs of ram in the MBA. again thanks for the advice.

pcshrink
Feb 14, 2011, 09:45 AM
go all out on this awesome machine! 1.6 Ghz, 4GB RAM, 128HHD - I did, and I am lovin it! :-)