Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

iRun26.2

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Aug 15, 2010
I love the thought of squeezing even more battery life out of my 11.6" MBA (although it really is pretty good already), but operating the CPU at a lower than designed voltage seems a little risky.

Has anyone had any problems using it with the 11.6" MBA? What can happen? Can you screw up your system (compromise the integrity of your data) if the lower voltage causes your CPU to hiccup?

(Maybe, as an engineer, I worry more than most because this is something that goes against good design practices)

gimmi80

macrumors member
Apr 10, 2010
I love the thought of squeezing even more battery life out of my 11.6" MBA (although it really is pretty good already), but operating the CPU at a lower than designed voltage seems a little risky.

Has anyone had any problems using it with the 11.6" MBA? What can happen? Can you screw up your system (compromise the integrity of your data) if the lower voltage causes your CPU to hiccup?

(Maybe, as an engineer, I worry more than most because this is something that goes against good design practices)

I've coolbook since a couple of weeks. I run my 1.6ghz core 2 duo at 0.875v
I would like to go lower (0.85v) but the software does not allow it and I'm not too familiar with terminal (apparently it can be done from there).

In this forum multiple user have coolbook installed and active and no problems have been reported yet.

iRun26.2

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Aug 15, 2010
I have the same question as iRun plus I'm concerned about turning the fan speed down, although I could do without the roar from my 13" MBA ... my 11" doesn't get loud at all.

Does Coolbook let you control the fan too (or does that require additional software)?